A Message of Flowers by Rachel Walter Blog Tour – Review & Giveaway!

Release Date: December 3rd, 2013
Summary from Goodreads:
White Carnations – pure love, sweet and
lovely.
Daisy – Innocence, beauty, simplicity.To florist, Georgina Nickols, every flower has a meaning
and a purpose. Flowers are something she knows, lives, and breathes. But when
they start mysteriously showing up on her porch, she’s unsure of their meaning,
and of who is leaving them.
What do these flowers mean to the messenger?An old friend from high school, Corbin Waylay, moves back
to town. When he shows up, he stirs up all kinds of trouble for Georgina. Her
life-long friend, Sid Trail, hates him and makes that fact clear to Georgina. But despite the warnings from her friend, she
just can’t help the feelings that resurface. The feelings she hasn’t felt for
anyone since high school graduation, the feelings that only Corbin can induce.As Corbin moves closer into her life, it causes a rift
between her and Sid. The mystery flowers continue to appear and begin to add to
the stresses of life.
Love, secrets, pain, and lies surround Georgina,
putting her trust to the test.
When the messenger is finally revealed, will the meaning of
the flowers be enough to repair the damage of those hidden secrets?Forget Me Nots – Remember me forever, good
memories, hope.
Single Red Rose – I love you.

BUY LINKS:
AUTHOR BIO:

6451162

Rachel lives in Central Pennsylvania, is a stay at home mom, and has a wonderful husband, total of 4 kids, 3 of which are step kids. She’s a true Pittsburgh Penguins and Steelers fan. She’s an insomniac that loves coffee, Johnny Depp movies and bonfires, dislikes driving on the interstate, bugs of any kind, and a too quiet house. When she’s not playing with the people inside her head, making her family think she belongs in the loony bin or writing, she enjoys spending time with her family, finding new music, new books, helpingsomeone or plotting something equally crazy with her Critique Partners. Be sure to check out her debut YA Paranormal True Connection. 

 AUTHOR LINKS:   

GIVEAWAY:

REVIEW:

*I received an eARC in exchange for an honest review.

I thought this book was really sweet and enjoyable. I’m writing a shorter review than I normally would in hopes I don’t spoil anything! In the beginning I had a bit of difficulty getting into it but once I got through the first few chapters I was hooked. Georgina is a florist in her small hometown. She works with her best friend, Sid, and sister, Trish. In the beginning of the book, Georgina begins receiving flowers on her doorstep. Each flower has a different meaning but most point towards love and affection. However, she then begins receiving flowers that hint towards feeling of hostility, as well.  In addition, to the bizarre mixed signals she’s receiving through the flower messenger, Georgina’s old crush, Corbin Waylay saunters back into town after leaving abruptly 6 years ago.

The characters always make or break me on a book. I really enjoyed theses particular characters, especially Georgina, she was such a sweet character. She really seemed to want to see the good in everybody, including Sid, her other best friend Breeze, and Corbin. She has a sort of naive, sweetness about her that I really enjoyed. I also really found Breeze entertaining for all the wacky commentary she provided.

When Corbin comes back into town, everything changes. Georgina’s feelings are re-ignited much to the dismay of Sid. This causes a bit of a rift between them and the outcome was pretty unexpected. I liked seeing the relationship between Corbin and Georgina simmer and then ignite. It was really sweet and I enjoyed that there was a foundation of friendship already built. I  most enjoy romances that begin from friendship and slowly emerge into something else.

As things heat up between Georgina and Corbin, drama unfolds and the flower messenger is revealed. Once this occurs a lot of things become clear for Georgina.

Overall, I thought A Message of Flowers was a sweet and refreshing story. I enjoyed the plot line and characters and although I stumbled through the first couple of chapters I really found myself flying through the rest of the book.  I would definitely recommend it to contemporary romance lovers. I thought the use of flowers to send messages was really rather clever as well! This was another enjoyable read from Rachel Walter and I look forward to reading more in the future.

Leave a Reply

