Evolution: ANGEL by S. A. Huchton Blog Tour – Review, Character Bio, & Giveaway!

The Evolution Series #1
Release Date: March 6th, 2014
Genre: New Adult Superhero Romance
Summary from Goodreads:

Candace Bristol has always been obsessed with comic books, but in a world where the nightly news often mirrors these inked stories, her dreams of becoming a real superhero could actually come true. After being rescued by members of the government’s AdvaNced Genetic EvoLution (ANGEL) Project four years ago, getting recruited for this elite team is all she’s wanted.Now 18, she’s finally reached her goal after years of study and physical training, but little could have prepared her for life as a genetic experiment. As though coming to terms with her new ability to manipulate water isn’t tough enough, she never expected to be swept off her feet by one of her fellow recruits.With genetic alteration, the threat of physical and mental instability hangs over every superhero like a shadow. When one of their own tumbles over the edge of madness, Candace will have to choose between protecting the world, and saving the one who holds her heart.

Review:

I was given an eARC of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.
Hi, my name is Allura and I am a Huchton fangirl. I was ECSTATIC when I saw on twitter that Huchton was writing a superhero romance! I LOVE her Endure Series so much so I was dying to get my hands on this book. I was in no way, shape, or form disappointed. I devoured Evolution: ANGEL and loved every second of it.

There are so many things I enjoy and treasure about Huchton’s books, her characters, her stories, and all of the research she obviously does to make her science-y aspects believable. I was immediately sucked into ANGEL (as I’m going to refer to it from here on out). I have never read a superhero book so I was a little nervous it might not live up to my expectations. I can admit that I was VERY wrong. The plot was paced well; there was action, romance, and well-placed humor. I loved the characters. Candace was a spit-fire and hilarious.  She is definitely not a push-over and she goes after what she wants. She also always does what she believes is right and is incredibly compassionate and loyal. She is my ideal female main character. She’s smart, strong, and witty. I loved her relationship with her cousin, Gabe, it was endearing and I was happy to see that their bond could withstand some of the things thrown at them. There were so many characters in this book that I adored, especially Adrian. The fact that he’s named Adrian made me love him enough, but he was such a doll. I love the sweet guys and I was happy to see Candace give him chance even though there are plenty of super-prospects surrounding her. I also really loved Jackson. Even though he was kind of rude and obnoxious, he was who he was and I appreciated that. I also couldn’t really figure him out so that intrigued me even more. The banter between Candace and Jackson had me cracking up throughout the entire book. Some of my favorite lines were either about Jackson or exchanged between Jackson and Candace.  There are so many characters, but these four made the most impact on me and thus were my favorites.

As for the whole superhero angle, it was well done. What was most important to me was that I believed that these superheroes could exist by means of genetic manipulation. Sometimes the idea is there, but the execution is poor. I didn’t feel that way when I read about Candace and the other recruits. I know superheroes don’t exist (or do they?) but the research, scientific, and medical terminology that was used allowed me to truly believe what I was reading.

This book is a rollercoaster. There are highs and lows, twists, turns, and even a few moments that literally had my heart in my throat. I was crushed, I laughed, I cried, I swooned. The story definitely evoked a lot of emotion in me, especially that ending! I am going to go crazy waiting for book two! All in all, I would highly recommend this book to anyone who likes sci-fi, superheroes, or something just a little different. This book should definitely be read by a mature audience, though, given some language and sexual situations.

Character Bio:

In Evolution: ANGEL, the main character, Candace Bristol, is a HUGE superhero fan. She’s a walking, talking encyclopedia of all things related to the ANGEL Project, from the tech specs on the superfast shuttles they use, to the superheroes themselves. In fact, she has a nearly complete set of all the ANGEL Project collector cards, of which she is very proud. I asked her if I could take a peek at them to pass on some stats, and she graciously sent me the requested information… as she didn’t want me touching her cards and boxing the edges. *rolls eyes*

Here are some of her favorites:

 Name: True Clemmons

Age: 23

Hometown: Savannah, Georgia

Years of Service: Four

Assigned Team: Pavo Team (West Coast)

Height: 5’9”

Weight: 135 lbs.

Eye Color: Brown

Hair Color: Black

Ability: True Clemmons commands the power of air. Her signature attack is a miniature tornado that devastates any enemy within range. Solid, pressurized walls of air serve as her defense, and she can launch herself up to 100 feet vertically.

Name: Amir Jones

Age: 23

Hometown: Chicago, Illinois

Years of Service: Four

Assigned Team: Pavo Team (West Coast) – Team Leader

Height: 5’11”

Weight: 194 lbs.

Eye Color: Hazel

Hair Color: Brown

Ability: Amir Jones manipulates sound pressure waves. Able to deafen a man with a flick of his wrist at over 100 yards, he can easily stun or permanently neutralize any opponent. His organizational skills, battle-tested strategies, and cool-headed calculation are the cohesive force of the Pavo Team.

Name: Trevor Ching

Age: 22

Hometown: San Mateo, California

Years of Service: Three

Assigned Team: Orion Team (West Coast)

Height: 7’2”

Weight: 347 lbs.

Eye Color: Brown

Hair Color: Black

Ability: Trevor Ching lends his remarkable superstrength to the northwestern United States defenses. Also gifted with heightened senses, what he lacks in speed, he compensates for in anticipation of his opponents moves.

Name: Marissa Hayden

Age: 23

Hometown: Ithaca, New York

Years of Service: Four

Assigned Team: Aquilla Team (East Coast)

Height: 5’6”

Weight: 128 lbs.

Eye Color: Brown

Hair Color: Brown

Ability: Marissa Hayden’s superspeed makes her an excellent first responder in any crisis. She has been clocked at sustained speeds over 45 mph. With a boost in strength as well, Marissa shines in disaster recovery, lending quiet calm to chaotic situations.

I also asked Candace for her stats, but she refused the request, citing that the information was still classified until the ANGEL Project’s Public Relations department released it to the press. Sorry. I tried. Apparently the Freedom of Information Act doesn’t apply to superheroes.

Giveaway:

Three AWESOME superhero prize-packs including copies of Evolution: ANGEL! (U.S. Only)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

E-book Copy of Evolution: ANGEL (International)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About the Author:

A geek of all trades, Starla Huchton has been crafting stories in various genres since 2007. Her first novel, THE DREAMER’S THREAD was released as a full cast audiobook podcast, becoming a double-nominee and finalist for the 2010 Parsec Awards. After releasing short fiction of steampunk, noir fantasy, and other varieties, she released the first three books of the Sci-Fi Romance ENDURE series in 2013. All three books of the EVOLUTION series will be released in 2014, as well as a Steampunk Fantasy novel, MASTER OF MYTH (the Antigone’s Wrath series, book 1), which was the first place winner of the Crested Butte Writers’ contest, The Sandy, in 2012.

When not writing, Starla trains three Minions, a black lab, and a military husband whilst designing book covers for independent authors and publishers at designedbystarla.com.

Author Links:

Facebook | Twitter | Blog

One thought on “Evolution: ANGEL by S. A. Huchton Blog Tour – Review, Character Bio, & Giveaway!

  1. Pingback: Evolution: ANGEL – Blog Tour Central!

Leave a Reply

