The Fiery Heart (Bloodlines #4) by Richelle Mead – Review

Release Date: November 19th, 2013
Summary from Goodreads:
Sydney Sage is an Alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires. They protect vampire secrets – and human lives.In The Indigo Spell, Sydney was torn between the Alchemist way of life and what her heart and gut were telling her to do. And in one breathtaking moment that Richelle Mead fans will never forget, she made a decision that shocked even her. . . .

But the struggle isn’t over for Sydney. As she navigates the aftermath of her life-changing decision, she still finds herself pulled in too many directions at once. Her sister Zoe has arrived, and while Sydney longs to grow closer to her, there’s still so much she must keep secret. Working with Marcus has changed the way she views the Alchemists, and Sydney must tread a careful path as she harnesses her profound magical ability to undermine the way of life she was raised to defend. Consumed by passion and vengeance, Sydney struggles to keep her secret life under wraps as the threat of exposure — and re-education — looms larger than ever.

Pulses will race throughout this smoldering fourth installment in the New York Times bestselling Bloodlines series, where no secret is safe.

Review:

After the ending of The Indigo Spell I was crazy with excitement to get my hands on The Fiery Heart. I love Richelle Mead and I love this series. Adrian is my ultimate, all-time favorite book boyfriend. However, I sadly did not love The Fiery Heart. I liked it, don’t get me wrong, but it just lacked something for me. I wasn’t even sure I was going to write this review because it pains me that I didn’t like this book as much as a lot of other people.

The things I did love made up a lot for my biggest issue of all. So let’s get that out of the way. I felt the plot was pretty slow. Generally, the beginning of any Mead book starts off at a nice, slow pace. We get a little recap of books prior to refresh our memories and then things tend to pick up. I honestly didn’t feel like this book ever picked up. There was so much going on that at times I was a little confused as to where the story was going, and not in a good way. There was a really great ending but it didn’t make up for the 80% that had very little action.

As for the parts I loved. Thank the heavens I did not have to wait 6 books for these two to get together like with Rose and Dimitri. I loved the dating aspect of Sydney and Adrian’s relationship. It was fun and cute and I love that the entire series didn’t revolve around them pining after but never giving in to their attraction towards each other. I loved the sweet and tender moments between them and it definitely (as if he wasn’t already) cemented Adrian into my heart forever.

As for Sydney, I really feel like she’s growing into a really strong and formidable character. At the beginning of Bloodlines I was really unsure of her. She honestly seemed a little lackluster and I wasn’t sure she’d ever break out of her prim and proper mold. I’m really glad she did. There’s nothing wrong with having morals and beliefs but when it causes someone to be blinded by reality it’s kind of annoying. Between The Indigo Spell and The Fiery Heart I have decided that Sydney is definitely becoming a character I love.

I was glad that we finally got to see a little more of the characters from Vampire Academy. Even though it was only a few short scenes, it’s nice to know that the old gang is making some appearances. It’s weird to see them through the eyes of another character but it’s interesting, nonetheless.

This is also the first time that Mead has written from the POV of a Moroi. In Vampire Academy we did get to see into Lissa’s head but it was never truly her story. In The Fiery Heart we get to see life from Adrian’s eyes. Adrian is a character that has always fascinated me. He is truly full of both the light and the dark. Although we’ve gotten snippets of the manic side of Adrian, seeing what truly goes on beyond his flippant nature was enlightening. With Rose, we always saw what Spirit Magic did to the mind of the Shadow Kissed but with Adrian we get to see the mind of the Spirit User.

All the drama in The Fiery Heart did add for some serious entertainment value. And all I have to say is if I were Sydney, I would disown my youngest sibling and my father. They are some seriously annoying and patronizing individuals. I know it’s not that easy to cut-off a parent or sibling but for real, Sydney, chop these relationships down!

Overall, I liked The Fiery Heart. It had its moments of greatness, I just wish there was a little more action. This may seem silly since I said a lot is going on but for me there was just a little something missing. However, the introduction of Sydney to Ms. Terwillinger’s Coven, Trey, Marcus, Malachi, and the tattoos, Adrian’s lack of magic use, and Sydney’s efforts of keeping Zoey in the dark about her relationship with Adrian, there’s enough to keep the reader busy. I will always love Mead’s way of story-telling and her ability to multi-task multiple character storylines at once. After the major cliff-hanger at the end of The Fiery Heart, I’m positive the next book will pick up it up a few notches.

2 thoughts on “The Fiery Heart (Bloodlines #4) by Richelle Mead – Review

Leave a Reply

