Forty Nights (Neima’s Ark #2) by Stephanie Parent Review

Release Date: 10/09/2013
Summary from Goodreads:

Neima, her family, and her grandfather Noah have found themselves trapped aboard an ark as a great flood destroys all life in the world. As their time aboard the ark lengthens, food begins to run out, wild animals grow restless, and family tensions become as much of a threat as the flood outside. In the second and final installment of Neima’s Ark, the stakes are higher, the conflicts are greater, and Neima finds herself facing a choice as impossible as the destruction all around her.Forty Nights is a continuation of the story begun in Forty Days, and it’s recommended that you read Forty Days first for the best experience. Forty Nights does, however, contain a character guide to refresh readers’ memories. The Neima’s Ark series is a historical, feminist reimagining of the story of Noah’s Ark rather than a religiously oriented one, and the novels are best suited for readers who are comfortable with new interpretations of biblical stories.

Forty Days, the first half of Neima’s story, is free on all major ebook retailers including Amazon.

Review:

*I was given an eCopy of this book from this author in exchange for an honest review.

I took a chance on Forty Days because to be quite frank, I thought it was outside my normal comfort zone. All I have to say is that I am SO glad I took that chance. I loved, LOVED Forty Days. You can check out my review here. I was so excited for Forty Nights and I am kicking myself for not getting to read it sooner!

I thought Forty Days was fabulous but Forty Nights was even better. After a heart-stopping cliff-hanger at the end of book one I was anxious to see what was next for Neima and Jorin. I wasn’t disappointed. Neima continues to stand her ground with her family and she displays the same bravado that I grew to love in book one.

I love the way Parent tells the story of Noah and the Ark from the eyes of his skeptical granddaughter. It’s interesting to see another view of Noah and to see the entire family, including Noah himself, struggle to understand what God truly wants from him. It was interesting to see the family fall apart with the discovery of Jorin and come back together a bit with the birth of Aliya. The family struggles with letting go of what custom dictates of them and learn to deal with what is and what may come in this new strange world.

Besides the wonderful story-line, I have to take a minute to recognize Parent’s writing ability. She is able to capture and create a world that is so tangible and real that my heart races and I feel butterflies in my stomach. The vivid imagery and character development is really well done. I especially applaud her for being able to write a book where elephants, doves, and tigers become just as beloved as the humans! I loved that the animals played such a big part and weren’t just pushed to the side because honestly, if I was stuck on an Ark with a bunch of animals for that long, I’d probably befriend a few myself.

 Forty Nights is a fantastic read and I highly recommend this series to YA lovers. Take a chance on Forty Days and Forty Nights, I bet you won’t be disappointed!

Leave a Reply

