Happy New Year! Resolutions & 2013 Wrap-Up!

Soooo…I’m back! I know this post is a little (a week) late but I’ve been crazy busy with wedding and other personal business so forgive me for my lack of posts! Plus I really just wanted to enjoy the holidays! I hope you all had a great holiday season, too!

I wanted to do a little recap of my year in books and also set up my second-annual “Reading Resolutions.” According to Goodreads I read 72 books this year! That may not seem like a lot or may seem like a ton to some of you but my original goal was 100. I know I read a few more than 72 because GR doesn’t include books I’ve beta-read so I’m really not terribly upset that I didn’t meet my original goal of 100. I actually slimmed that goal down to 75 a few months ago when I realized I was going to need major surgery. Despite having 3 months of life without work I actually didn’t read THAT much. But that’s neither here nor there. This past year I’ve read so many different books and really cultivated my love for new and old genres. I believe 2013 lead to me reading my first NA novels and reminded me why I love adult books, too. All in all, 2013 has been a wonderful year for me when it comes to reading.

In addition to all the wonderful books I’ve read, I’ve met some really awesome people, readers and authors alike. I found some of them by accident and many I met via my obsession with Twitter. Just to give a quick shout-out (sorry if I miss anyone major, I’m terrible at this part), a big YAY for meeting you and thanks for putting up with my quirky-ness and constant fangirling to: Danielle from What Danielle Did Next, Rebekah from The Reflections of a Bookworm, Megan from Reading Books Like a Boss, Jenn Cooksey, David James, Stephanie Parent, Dani Morales, Christina from Crazy Book Chicks, Danielle Sibarium, Laura, Ali, Team GYP, Halle’s Harlots, and many more who I’m sure I’m forgetting so I’m sorry! Also, a big thank you to YOU, whoever you are, reading this right now. I blog because I love books but I really also love all the chatter and what not blogging brings with it.

Okay so now to the fun part…I’m going to do a few “Top” Lists. None of these are in any particular order, FYI. I can’t be made to choose like that…

Top “New to Me Authors” that I may or may not stalk (click on their name for Goodreads page):

1. Jenn Cooksey

2. David James

3. Dani Morales

4. Stephanie Parent

5. Karina Halle

6. Helen Boswell

7. Danielle Sibarium

8. Katja Millay

9) S. A. Huchton

10) K. A. Tucker

Top Books I read in 2013 – I’m going to warn you…I’m obsessed with most of these books.

16151178

1) The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay

16066163

2) The  Other Fish in the Sea by Jenn Cooksey

17382508

3) Forty Nights by Stephania Parent

18692434

4) Progeny by S. A. Huchton

7802254

5) Succubus Revealed by Richelle Mead

8709526

6) The Indigo Spell by Richelle Mead

16058646

7) Light of the Moon by David James

13442031

8) On Demon Wings by Karina Halle

13253276

9) Through the Ever Night by Veronica Rossi

11870085

10) The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

THERE ARE SO MANY but I think that’s enough for now…

Top Book Boyfriends of 2013

1) Adrian Ivashkov. If it wasn’t obvious from reading any VA or Bloodlines related post on my blog, Adrian is literally my favorite ever.

2) Josh Bennett. The Sea of Tranquility very well may have been my favorite read of 2013. Everything about it was wonderful, every word, period, comma, is placed with such precision. I just can’t even put my feelings for this book into words but I can put my feelings for Josh Bennett into words. We all need a Josh Bennett in our lives, I loooove him.

3) Dex Foray. The Experiment in Terror Series is fabulous, check it out. But honestly, the characters make the story. Dex is one of the crudest, most honest men I’ve ever had the pleasure to read. Generally I like nice guys but Dex wormed his way into my heart.

4) Roar. Most people love Perry from The Under the Never Sky series. Not meeeee, I tend to love the sidekicks. Roar is so cute and funny, I just want to snuggle him!

5) All of the GYP boys but if I had to pick a favorite…Dear Jeff. I LOVE Dear Jeff. His love for Kate is amazing. Also, he knows the true meaning of friendship which is awesome to see in a mature YA book.

6) Jack Caputo. I’ve noticed a lot of people showing Cole all the love when it comes to the Everneath series! But I think it takes sheer talent to compete so well with the token bad boy and be well, a nice, very HUMAN, regular ole Joe..er Jack. I love me some Jack. I reread this book from time to time just to get some Jack in my life.

7) Carter. WHY DOES RICHELLE MEAD WRITE THE BEST GUYS?!?! I actually had a hard time picking between Seth, Roman, and Carter. I had a love/hate relationship with both Seth and Roman throughout the Georgina Kincaid series but my love for Carter persisted from book 1 all the way to book 6! Carter is an angel, a very unconventional angel, but an angel no less. I loved that he consistently wore torn up clothing, dirty hats, smoke, and drank with all the creatures of Hell. He not only provided great comedic relief but was often the very zen-master voice of reason.

That’s all the guys I can think of at the moment but you should check them all out if you haven’t already!

And FINALLY, this is a category I’m extremely excited about. My favorite HEROINES of 2013.

1) Perry Palomino. I mentioned Dex above but Perry is a character all her own. Although she isn’t liked by all in the blogosphere, I happen to love her. I think she’s real and totally awesome. Other than her special “abilities” she’s a pretty normal 23-year-old woman by my accounts. And guess what?! She isn’t perfect. She isn’t stick-thin, her hair isn’t bleach blonde or golden brown, and she says what she friggin’ wants, when she wants to and it’s one of my favorite things about her. Oh, and she can match Dex’s BS pretty well.

2) Nastya. The Sea of Tranquility. Nastya may not speak but boy does she have a lot to say. I think she might be a close tie with Perry for my favorite heroine of 2013. Nastya, Nastya, Nastya. I don’t even have words. If I ever have HALF the strength in me that Nastya has in her…I’ll be a happy girl.

3) Lydia. The Edure Series. Dude. Lydia is a sexy genius. It’s nice to see that both beauty and brains can be combined to make a personable and interesting character. Although Lydia’s IQ is higher than the general populations she isn’t dry or pretentious and I freaking love her for it.

4) Aria. Through the Ever Night. At first I found Aria to be so annoying. She was just blah. I couldn’t take all the whining. But let me just say, Aria quickly became one of my favorites. She is definitely and example of character and personal growth.

5) Jillian. The Grab Your Pole Series. A 13-year-old ninja super genius? UH, yes please. Jillian is probably one of the youngest, most badass characters I have ever read about in my life. The best part?! She’s cool enough to be a real person. Just sayin ‘.

Alright this post is getting super long and my hands are getting tired so I am going to wrap this up!

My Reading Resolutions:

1) Read 100 books.

2) Read WHATEVER I want to read, when I want to read it.

3) Have fun and enjoy each book without worrying about the next book I need to read.

Happy New Year!

4 thoughts on “Happy New Year! Resolutions & 2013 Wrap-Up!

Leave a Reply

