Review Double Feature: Nemesis and Progeny (The Endure Series #2-3) by S. A. Huchton

So…I’m pretty much in love with this series. It’s well-written, witty, and has two of my favorite elements, sci-fi and romance, all bound up into one beautifully wrapped gift. I don’t normally write dual reviews but I decided since I read these so close together that it made more sense than purposefully splitting them up into two posts. With that being said, I’m going to omit the blurb for book #3 since I feel it reveals some spoilers for book 2. Check out my review of book 1 here. Ready to see me muppet-flail? Yes? Okay, let’s go…

Release Date: 08/26/2013
Summary from Goodreads:
Tech genius Daniel Brewer isn’t the only one with a romantic history. Already weighed down with the impossible problem of the Maven Initiative’s plans for world domination and disaster, Dr. Lydia Ashley is finding it more and more difficult to keep things in balance. With an old flame reappearing and the schemes of a vindictive new rival thrown into the mix, her hopes for a life with Daniel may be on the brink of annihilation.

When Lydia’s past is brought to light, one big secret could destroy everything.

Review:

The end of Maven left us with so many questions. What exactly was the Maven Initiative up to? This burning question left Daniel and Lydia, with the aid of Captain Brewer and Dr. Gerardi, to implement a defensive plan. This plan came to be known as NEMESIS, a group of covert “investigators” aboard the Endure seeking to prevent or at least counteract the effects of the Maven initiatives disastrous plans.

From the very first pages Nemesis sucked me in. I have grown to not only love the characters aboard the Endure but also the mystery and sci-fi elements Huchton so masterfully crafts. I know sci-fi scares a lot of people but I have to say that at no time did I feel I couldn’t understand the scientific “jargon” thrown in. I think it takes someone really talented to not only research and make a scientific story believable, but to also make it understandable.

Although a highly qualified and genius team is assembled, Dr. Lydia Ashley is at a loss for how to deal with specific aspects of her research. Enter Dr. Nicholas “Nick” Miller. Or as Daniel refers to him, Dr. Gorgeous. Even though Nick presented as a potential threat to the newly blossoming romance between Daniel and Lydia, I never once disliked him. Nick is easy-going, kind, and although sometimes I bit too smug for his own good, he seems to be a genuinely good person. “Love-triangles” are by no means my ideal romantic situation but unlike so many the potential for this triangle’s manifestation didn’t burden the story. In fact, it added for some entertaining commentary and witty humor.

In addition to the complication of Dr. Miller, Dr. Corvis provides an even bigger issue. She’s venomous, conniving, and downright cruel. It’s apparent she seeks to not only destroy Lydia and Daniel’s relationship but also discredit Lydia professionally in the process. I loved to hate Dr. Corvis. She was absolutely vile and it would take a miracle for me to find her anything but.

Another point I would like to bring up is although Lydia and Daniel are both literal geniuses in their respective areas, their relationship knowledge is lacking and adds a level of frustration (and cuteness) that should be mentioned. There were times I wanted to slap some sense into the both of them, especially Lydia’s lack of disclosure about certain historical life events, and Daniel’s serious jealousy issues, but their love for each other pours off the pages without inducing a sugar-coma.

Overall, with new friends and foes added to the mix, Nemesis is a wild ride full of betrayal, heartache, and a few plot-bombs that had me furiously flipping through the pages. I am in love with this series and I’m glad (while also kicking myself) for waiting until Progeny came out to read this installment in the Endure Series.

Release Date: 12/02/2013

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Review:

*I received an eCopy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Warning: this post contains spoilers for book 2 – read at your own risk.

What an ending to book 2! I think I was equally heartbroken for both Lydia and Daniel at Lydia’s sudden departure from the Endure. Although I understood her reasoning my heart still ached for both parties. Progeny picks up with Lydia in Brazil, working with Nick at a research facility in an attempt to find a countermeasure to the utter destruction the Maven initiative seeks to plague the world with.

I honestly don’t know how to review this book without revealing some major spoilers so I’m going to be a little vague. What’s most important is this – Huchton sure knows how to drop some major bombs on her readers. I think I lost count after the third major revelation. Honestly, most of them were so surprising I had to re-read some passages to make sure I hadn’t imagined them.

I have to say that crafting a story this complex and full of chaos is seriously genius. I’m not sure I’ve ever read a sci-fi that can incorporate such intricate details AND nail the romance on the head. I’m amazed.
Progeny challenges our favorite characters (Lydia, Daniel, Nick, Brooke, Cordy, etc.) to make some unbelievably difficult decisions. With the possible and probable destruction of half the world’s population looming in the near future, many seemingly impossible situations arise. Despite some serious tension and downright hostility our characters must put aside their feelings and work together to save humanity.

Like the first two books in the series, Progeny is full of action, but on a whole new level. As figurative bomb after bomb goes off within the story my attention never strayed and I devoured the book in just a few hours. I am so beyond in love with this story, truly a hidden gem that I want the entire world to discover! (If I could just develop some hacker skills like Daniels and broadcast this book to the world I would…alas I am in no way tech savvy)

Progeny does not disappoint and I CANNOT wait to see what happens in book 4 after the major shock at the end!

Again…sorry for the vague review but in the words of River Song…”Spoilers.”

Leave a Reply

