Mythology (Mythology #1) by Helen Boswell – Review

Release Date: 7/27/12
Summary from Goodreads:

Hope Gentry doesn’t believe in Fate. Born with an unusual power to see the dark memories of those around her, Hope just wants to be a normal teenager. But on the first day of her senior year of high school, she finds herself irresistibly drawn to a transfer student named Micah Condie. At first glance, Micah seems like a boy that most girls would dream about. But when Hope’s powers allow her to discover Micah’s darkest secret, she quickly becomes entangled in the lives of mythical entities she never dreamed existed. Was this her destiny all along? And will her powers help her survive the evil of the Demon Impiorum?Mythology isn’t just for English class anymore.

Review:
*I received and eCopy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
Mythology was one of the best YA paranormal books I’ve read in a long time. It truly breaks the mold many YA novels fall neatly into. Hope and Micah are not your normal teens. Hope has the unique gift to see people’s worst memories whether she wants to or not. Micah, kind and gentle, is destined to become everything he is not. As if high school isn’t stressful enough, Hope and Micah are forced to deal with much more than dances, first kisses, and awkward first dates. Instead they must face the overwhelming truth that they are part of a world filled with two ancient races destined to fight one another. But not everything or everyone is what they seem on the surface and with the help of their mentor, Jonathan, Micah and Hope must fight for their survival and their love.
I loved every single character in this book. I even loved the characters I was supposed to hate. Each individual character had their own unique voice and it was refreshing to see such three-dimensional personalities. Hope was a YA heroine I could honestly applaud. She was smart and able and not once did I feel that she was the damsel in distress that always needed to be saved. There were times she did really rash and somewhat stupid things but it was always for the common good (or at least what she believed was the common good). She not only strived to protect Micah but all the people she loved. I am more than excited to see what is in store for Hope in Mythology: The Wicked after the ending of Mythology.

Now, I love me some bad boys. I am not going to lie about that little fact but to be honest; I also loved the sweet and gentle boys as well. Micah is so kind and good-hearted. It was a pleasant surprise to see a YA MC who was generally a nice guy and got the girl. I think it’s great for young adults to see that there are nice guys out there and that these guys are worth the time, as well. Micah isn’t without his flaws but he’s a symbol of our ability to be something more than we believe we are destined to be. He’s a symbol of hope that despite our flaws we can be good.

Two of my favorite minor characters are Davis and Jonathan. Both provide support and love to our MC’s but also at times, comedic relief. It’s nice to see a brother-sister dynamic that is full of love and easy banter rather than rivalry and disdain. I could also relate with Hope’s relationship with her more adult brother since I have a similar dynamic with my own brother. As for Jonathan, he was fantastic. His role was a bit Giles-esque (Buffy reference for those of you who haven’t seen it), fitting into a mentor role with ease and grace. He was also hilarious with his less-than-modern speech patterns and disdain for technology.

The actual plot of Mythology had me glued to the pages from the very beginning. The story initiated and ended with action. However, the action wasn’t overdone and all was necessary to make one cohesive story. I was never bored and I found myself itching to pick it back up again when I was forced to deal with the real world, the horror! Helen Boswell writes a smart story, full of a range of emotion and depth. I cannot wait to start reading the second installment in the Mythology series! I highly recommend this book to YA PNR lovers.

Leave a Reply

