Mead-Vember: Succubus Dreams (Georgina Kincaid #3) by Richelle Mead Review

Summary from Goodreads:

First, Georgina Kincaid, a shape-shifting succubus who gets her energy from seducing men, can’t have sex with her gorgeous bestselling author boyfriend Seth Mortensen–in case she inadvertently kills him. Second, Georgina’s under demonic orders to mentor the new (and surprisingly inept) succubus on the block. Third, someone’s manipulating her dreams, draining her energy and supplying eerie visions of her future. Georgina seeks answers from Dante, a dream interpreter with ties to the underworld, but his flirtatious charm only leaves her more confused–especially as the situation with Seth reaches a crisis point. Georgina needs to rein in her out-of-control love life and go toe-to-toe with an enemy capable of wreaking serious havoc among mankind. Otherwise, Georgina, and the entire mortal world, may never sleep easy again…

Link to Goodreads

Cover:

2977487

Review:

Richelle Mead likes to torture me. I came to that conclusion a long time ago. Those feelings were reinforced after reading Succubus Dreams. I swear she’s a super secret emotional ninja and enjoys tormenting her readers.

Anyways, I really enjoyed Succubus Dreams. This book made me laugh, it made me cringe, and it made me cry. On top of her ever complicated love-life with Seth, so many other things happen, the first being that Georgina is given a succubus trainee, Tawny. Let’s just say Georgina is not happy about this. I don’t entirely blame her because Tawny seems to be quite naive when it comes to men (ironically) and causes more headaches than anything else. Another issue Georgina faces are vivid and somewhat heartbreaking dreams that cause extreme energy loss. No one, not even her demon boss, has any idea what’s causing this energy loss.

On top of these new complications, Georgina is playing hostess to some new, mysterious angels in town. She has no idea why they’re here but they have invaded her life in the most literal way, they’ve decided to make Georgina’s apartment their home base. Although I love all the characters in this series, the angels might be some of my favorites. Carter is especially hilarious. He’s so cryptic but he may prove to be one of Georgina’s best allies and friends.

As for other happenings in this book, Seth. Ugh, I am so unsure of how I feel about Seth after this book. I don’t even know how I feel about Georgina and Seth’s relationship. It’s always so precarious. I felt like they didn’t grow in their relationship but rather caused each other unnecessary heartache. Anyways, we’ll see what happens next.

I love the Georgina Kincaid novels. None of them have disappointed me yet and the characters and witty dialogue are on point. I highly recommend this series to adult urban fantasy lovers.

Leave a Reply

