Torn (Torn #1) by K. A. Robinson Review

Summary from Goodreads:

Chloe hasn’t had the best life. With a mother who is gone more often than not, she has had to raise herself. After graduating high school, she leaves to start a new life away at West Virginia University with her best friends Amber and Logan, determined to leave her demons in the past. 

On her first day, she meets a stranger who takes her breath away at first sight. Until she met Drake, no one had ever sparked her interest. Now this tattooed and pierced bad boy is all she can think about, no matter how hard she fights it.

Falling for Drake was never part of her plans, but when it happens, things seem to do anything but fall into place.

Dealing with a tragic past, Drake has never cared about anyone else but himself and his band. But when Chloe takes the empty seat next to him in class, things start to change. Instantly drawn to her, he begins to wonder if one girl can take a cold hearted womanizer and change every part of him?

Long hidden feelings are revealed and friendships tested to the brink.

Link to Goodreads

Cover:

17969353

Review:

*I received an eCopy of Torn through Netgalley from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

I wanted to love Torn, I really did, but unfortunately it fell a bit flat for me. I was excited by the premise of the story, I’m a sucker for a bad boy but the story didn’t live up to my expectations. There were parts that I did enjoy but those didn’t come until about 40% through. I’m going to do a what worked and what didn’t work for me review.

What didn’t work:

– The love triangle. I felt like it was forced and that really, there was absolutely no option of who Chloe was going to choose. It just felt like both guys were just being strung along the whole time and that Chloe was just causing a whole mess she could avoid.

– Chloe. I really wasn’t impressed with her. I understand she had it rough but that’s not excuse to do the things she did throughout the story. I felt she was immature and selfish and I didn’t see much growth from her throughout the story.

– Logan. I did like his loyalty and friendship with Chloe but often times he came off overbearing and caveman-like (and not in the good way). I felt sometimes his jealousy border-lined obsessive and it kind of freaked me out.

What did work:

– Chloe’s friendships with Amber and Logan. Although they had their ups and downs it was nice to see that friendships weren’t totally ruined by some of the immature actions of these characters. I love when friendship is made to be important in a novel because more often than not, friendship is either brushed under the rug or torn apart.

– The cliffhanger-ish type ending. Although I struggled through parts of this book, the ending made me want to pick up the second book in the series Twisted. 

– The chemistry between Drake and Chloe. It was palpable and believable. And Drake was actually a nice guy under his bad-boy persona.

Overall, Torn and I had a rocky start but I did end up enjoying parts of it. The writing was on par but after reading a lot of NA’s in the past year it wasn’t anything terribly new so that might have been its weakness for me. However, I will most likely pick up Twisted as I’m curious to see where Chloe’s life goes next.

Leave a Reply

