Losing it All by Marsha Cornelius

Summary from Goodreads:

Frank Barnes is content living on the streets of Atlanta. A soup kitchen and a makeshift shanty sure beat his days as a POW in Vietnam. But Chloe Roberts can’t handle the eviction that sends her into the hell of homelessness. With no family or friends to turn to, Chloe and her children are sucked into the traumatic world of night shelters, and dangerous predators.
When they bump into each other at the soup kitchen, Frank offers Chloe a glimmer of hope that she can pull her life back together. She rekindles his lost sense of self-worth by taking his mind off his own problems. But they will not meet again until Frank is riding high as a working man, and Chloe has hit rock bottom.
By helping Chloe rebuild her broken life, Frank banishes the demons from his own past. Unfortunately, the past comes strolling back into their lives, threatening to destroy the happiness they have finally found.

Cover:

17619843

Review:

I began reading this book after a little bit of a reading funk and all I have to say is wow. This book was incredible. Other than a movie here or there and stories I’ve heard about those who are homeless I’ve never really felt like I was experiencing it through the perspective of someone living that life. All I can say is…Chloe and Frank took some extremely horrible circumstances and fought like hell to make their lives better. Despite much trial and error, the strength these characters possessed was awe-inspiring. Even more so, the story itself was inspiring. It truly made me appreciate a hot shower and the food on my table. This is the kind of book that really makes you put your life into perspective and realize things truly can be worse.

Chloe went from being a meek housewife to one firecracker of a woman. Her determination and strength to make a better life for herself and her children was incredible. Even though she had her weak moments it was clear to me that Chloe was a character I would grow to love and respect. Plus she’s raising two of the most adorable and wonderful children! Katie and Ethan were quite the duo. I have to say they provided some really great comic relief…especially Ethan. Kids really do say the darndest things.

Frank was amazing. This is the first adult novel I’ve read that the main male MC was actually just a good guy through and through. He did grow and develop as a character/person throughout the story but he didn’t start out as some great big jerk. He was just a man who went through a horrible time (Vietnam) and had to find the motivation to put it in the past. I was so amazed by Frank’s patience with not only Ethan and Katie, but also Chloe. He is the kind of man that every girl wants to find, unlike Chloe’s loser ex-husband, Duane. I don’t even want to talk about how awful he was.

This story was truly heart-wrenching but well worth the read. It affected me in a way that few other books have leaving me with a feeling of gratitude for the things I have and the things I have not had to face. I would not hesitate to recommend this book and I look forward to reading more from this author in the future.

Link to Goodreads

One thought on “Losing it All by Marsha Cornelius

Leave a Reply

