Darkhouse (Experiment in Terror #1) by Karina Halle

Summary from Goodreads:

With all the vampire, werewolf and faerie books out there, it’s easy to become numb to all things supernatural. The antidote? Darkhouse introduces two real and unforgettable characters, Perry Palomino & Dex Foray, amateur ghost hunters who are “attractive, relatable and oddly heroic,” “flawed but loveable,” “slightly crazy” and just the most endearing pair to ever tackle the paranormal…just don’t call them normal.

Darkhouse is a thrilling and sexy new take on concepts like Supernatural and The X-Files, bringing a breath of fresh air to a genre that has been inundated with the dead.

***Darkhouse and the Experiment in Terror series is a horror/romance for mature audiences only. Readers who are easily offended by harsh language should think twice about reading it.***

Cover:

Darkhouse (Experiment in Terror, #1)

Review:

I decided to pick up Darkhouse because a fellow blogger friend of mine, Megan from Reading Books Like a Boss, had been shouting about the newest book in the series and it totally piqued my interest. I love ghost stories, I love horror movies, I love to be scared. I know that probably says a lot about me but, who cares.

In the beginning of Darkhouse things start out a little strange. Our main character, Perry (female), is having some really strange dreams. At first, it seems, that Perry is just your typical 22-year-old; she’s bored with her mediocre life and her mediocre job. She’s tried all sorts of crazy things such as stunt training. However, when she and her family decide to go visit her Uncle who lives on the coast things start to get really interesting.

Insert Dex Foray. Perry runs into Dex while exploring the lighthouse on her Uncle’s property. Dex is a cameraman, producer, and cinematographer for an online show on Shownet. As both Dex and Perry explore the lighthouse strange and terrifying things begin to happen, all of which, Perry captures on camera. After escaping the lighthouse and parting ways, Perry goes home and posts her lighthouse video on her sister, Ada’s, fashion blog. Little does Perry know or expect, the thing goes viral.

Insert Dex. Again. After seeing that Perry’s video has gone viral, Dex approaches Perry about hosting his new show “Experiment in Terror.”

From there…Dex and Perry begin the adventure of figuring out what exactly is going on in her Uncle’s lighthouse.  Terrifying and shocking things begin to happen, but don’t worry, if you’re not a horror lover, you can still handle it.

If you read my blog, you know how attached I get to characters. Let me say, I LOVE Dex and Perry. They are quite a duo. I can see where some people might get annoyed with Perry’s self-depreciation but honestly, I can relate. I’m not that much older than Perry and there are days I feel just as frumpy and useless as she does. So, with that being just about her only major flaw that I can really see, I still love her. She’s funny, she’s intelligent, and she’s not afraid to sass Dex. She’s quickly becoming one of my favorite book heroines. Now, moving on to Dex. At first all I could think about Dex was, jeeze, this guy is a jerk! But moving forward, I’ve realized he’s a lot more complex than that. Yes, he’s sarcastic and pushes Perry to her comfort limits but deep down I don’t think he’s such a bad guy. I also love his sense of humor. He says some of the most outlandish and hilarious things, ever. The banter and partnership between him and Perry is on point. And honestly, I’m hoping the building and boiling chemistry between them explodes soon. Additionally, I can’t wait to find out more about both these characters; they both are equally a mystery to me.

I would highly recommend this book to lovers of adult novels and especially those who like some mystery, suspense, and some paranormal activity.

P.S. This book is a bit slow to start but it does pick up the pace later on. 🙂

Link to Goodreads

6 thoughts on “Darkhouse (Experiment in Terror #1) by Karina Halle

Leave a Reply

