Ivy League by Christopher Waltz Blog Tour: Review

Today is my stop on the Ivy League Blog Tour! This was a book I had actually purchased and had at the top of my summer reading list so when Dani from Crazy Girl Blog Tours approached me about a blog tour I, of course, said yes.

Summary:

“Within a few months, everything changed for me, and as anyone could probably guess already, not for the better. Life, itself, began to fall apart…

But I guess that’s what happens when you become a teenage drug-dealer.”

Jamie Brewer has just gotten the one piece of mail he’s been waiting for his whole life: his college acceptance letter. But when a series of unfortunate events makes paying tuition to one of the most prestigious universities in the country practically impossible, Jamie makes a decision that will not only provide him with the cash he needs, but may also get him killed in the process…

Selling drugs starts out well for Jamie, but things quickly begin to spiral out of control: his best friend and girlfriend are weary of his career choice, a local police officer is determined to catch him in the act, and worst, his partner in crime, Gabe, may be more dangerous than anyone ever imagined.

What begins as fun and games is about to become much more serious, causing Jamie to question just how far he will go and who’s lives he will risk in order to become Ivy League

Cover:

Review:

I was instantly intrigued by the plot of this book.  It was something different in a time when I seriously needed a break from all the romance novels I’ve been reading (not that I don’t love romance). I don’t know why but this novel just spoke to me. Perhaps it was because in reality this Jamie’s situation could happen to almost anyone. Most of us go through life as normal kids and then more often than not something happens that changes our plans. Whether it be our parents getting divorced, financial troubles, bullying, or any combination of things. There comes a point when we all have to make tough choices and that’s what Jamie was faced with. Acceptance letter to Bierce in hand – he has to decide whether or not being able to attend the college of his dreams is worth risking his freedom. Freedom? You ask…well Jamie decides to sell drugs to pay for his first few semesters at Bierce.

Now this is where some people might/would say “woah, woah…sell drugs?! I would NEVER do that…” Well, a lot of us can’t really say this because we haven’t been in a situation where it may seem like the only option. That’s my first defense of Jamie. He’s truly a good kid, he’s compassionate, intelligent, and kind. He happens to just make some really poor choices over the course of the book. Obviously I’m not going to tell you what they are because well, spoilers, but let’s just say Jamie is faced with some decisions I wouldn’t want to make nor would I probably make the best decisions if I had to make them.

Through Jamie’s “business partnership” with Gabe Malvado, he learns the ins and outs of growing and selling marijuana. Let me just stop right here and say I had a seriously bad feeling about Gabe. Not just because he’s a teenage-baby-drug-lord (practically) but because he gave me the creeps. I didn’t trust him from the get go and I was seriously nervous the entire time that he was going to become some kind of psycho. Where I felt Jamie was actually a good person…Gabe just felt off to me. Through Gabe’s constant peer pressure and scare tactics Jamie continues selling drugs even though at times he really seemed like he wanted to get out. Additionally, I felt kind of sorry for Jamie and his friends, family, and love-interest, Riley. I especially felt bad for  his little brother, Kip, and best friend, Airic. Both were pretty much neglected and it left pretty big chasms between Jamie and each respective character due to his secrecy and illegal activities.

Overall, I felt this was a very well written book that combined a bunch of things I really love: crime, drama, well-developed characters, and a dash of romance. It truly embodied the struggles of a  young man while he decides what’s important in life and what’s worth risking everything.  I often like to try to place myself in Jamie’s shoes to see if I think I would make the same decisions or think I would do better and at times it was difficult. I couldn’t help but empathize with him which to me says that Waltz is doing his job in making his character understood.  I saw at the end there is a sequel in works and I can’t wait to see what Book 2 will focus on.

Author Bio:

Christopher Waltz was born in Indiana in 1987 and promptly began writing once leaving the womb. While this is a complete lie, Christopher did begin writing around age eight at which point he penned and illustrated a sequel to the film “Jumanji.”

Since that time, Christopher has continued writing and obtained a degree in secondary education from Indiana University’s School of Education. He currently works with a non-profit organization and writes, hoping to one day be a famous and influential author.

He has recently published his first novella, “Come as you are” on the Amazon Kindle Store and lulu.com.

Links

Blog – Facebook – Ivy League on Amazon

Twitter – “Come As You Are” (my novella) on Amazon

3 thoughts on “Ivy League by Christopher Waltz Blog Tour: Review

Leave a Reply

