Obsession by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Summary from Goodreads:

This is a stand alone novel that is an adult spin-off
of the Lux Series
 You do not need to read a Lux book to read Obsession and vice versa.

He’s arrogant, domineering, and… To. Die. For.

Hunter is a ruthless killer. And the Department of Defense has him firmly in their grasp, which usually doesn’t chafe too badly because he gets to kill bad guys. Most of the time he enjoys his job. That is, until he’s saddled with something he’s never had to do before: protect a human from his mortal enemy.

Serena Cross didn’t believe her best friend when she claimed to have seen the son of a powerful senator turn into something… unnatural. Who would? But then she witnesses her friend’s murder at the hands of what can only be an alien, thrusting her into a world that will kill to protect their secret.

Hunter stirs Serena’s temper and her lust despite their differences. Soon he’s doing the unthinkable—breaking the rules he’s lived by, going against the government to keep Serena safe. But are the aliens and the government the biggest threats to Serena’s life… or is it Hunter?

Link to Goodreads

Cover:

Obsession

Review:

So…it took me a while to get around to this review but here it is!

When I heard JLA was releasing an Adult Lux book I almost died of excitement. Unfortunately, this book fell a little flat for me. This was pretty disappointing seeing how I’ve loved all the other books I’ve read by her.

I really don’t know what it truly was about this book that didn’t do it for me however I do know one thing, I am NOT on board the Hunter is better than Daemon bus. Yes, both are arrogant, sexy, and downright bad-ass. BUT Hunter was just too much arrogance and bossiness rolled into one. There were times he was downright rude and mean and I just couldn’t deal with it. In addition, I actually do enjoy a bossy male MC (Deamon, hello?)  but generally it sits better with me when he has a strong-willed female MC to knock him down a few pegs. I didn’t really get that vibe from Serena. She was kind of weak-willed and more often than not she just grated on my nerves.

I hate to say but generally the character’s in JLA’s books is what makes them so great but this time I truly preferred the story-line. I think I would have enjoyed it a lot more if the character’s had been better and although a love a few sexy-times, I felt that some scenes in this particular book took away from the overall plot.

I didn’t hate this book but I didn’t love it. It was entertaining and I read it fairly quickly. I just wish it hadn’t elicited so many eye-rolls from me. Furthermore, the alien Christian Grey made it hard for me to enjoy the characters.

8 thoughts on “Obsession by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. Yeah I still haven’t read this one, TBH I think the shoutline just puts me off, no man who’s arrogant and domineering is to die for…just no. I know I’ll read it eventually but I’m pretty sure I’ll have the same issues you have with it! Great review!

  2. Yeah, I don’t think I would love this either. Granted, I’ve quit the Lux series, but only b/c I’m kinda tired of Paranormal YA. Hunter just seems annoying. I’m glad you did like the storyline.
    Great review, Allura!

Leave a Reply

