True Connection by Rachel Walter Blog Tour: Review

Today is my stop on the True Connection blog tour! I’m really excited to share my review with you all!
Blurb:
It’s going to take a fight, I know that. But it’s more than just a fight for my life. It’s a fight for my soul and my soul mate.’
Jazzy Williams is not your average coffee-loving teen. She’s struggling with her grief, her famous uncle’s fans, an overprotective big brother, and a depressed mother, all while trying to make friends at her new school. In the first week, she meets a gorgeous green-eyed hottie who turns out to be more than just some high school crush – he’s more than human. And she unknowingly enrages a very dangerous breed of immortal who wants her soul or life as payment. With the help of supernatural friends and protectors, Jazzy thinks she’s safe until what remains of her family is put in danger. Does Jazzy have what it takes to save her family, life, soul and soul mate, or will all be lost?
*Warning* Mature Content. This contains some profanity, mild sexual situations, innuendoes, and violence. Recommended for ages 17 and up, depending on maturity level.
Links:
Cover:
Review:
*I received an eARC of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. 
I so enjoyed this book. It had me captured and enthralled within the first 5%. I thought it was sweet, funny, and thoroughly captured young adult relationships –  including friendship, family, and love. I loved Jazzy. She was the kind of girl I would love to be friends with. She’s sweet, funny, and compassionate. Jazzy and her family suffer quite a tragedy and it tears a hole into their little universe. Upon moving in with their Uncle and to their rival school, Jazzy and her brother, Henry, have to make new friends and deal with all that they loss. On their first day Jazzy meets Skeeter, and quirky but friendly girl in her art class, and Seth, a quiet, gorgeous, and mysterious classmate. Both of whom I’ll get to in a minute but first I want to talk about Jazzy and Henry, plus the three giants.
Jazzy has a very close relationship with her brother, Henry. At first I was worried it was going to get creepy but it didn’t, they’re relationship is so refreshing and sweet. It’s nice to see siblings in a novel that actually get along and appreciate each other. Furthermore, I just love Henry, he’s so sweet and good to the people he loves. However, he has quite the protective streak. I found it hilarious when he introduces the three “giants” (Flynn, Barry, and Tony) to Jazzy and the four of them begin harping on Jazzy about her friendship with Seth. Between the four of them I don’t know how Jazzy doesn’t literally pull her hair out. Despite their over-protectiveness, they’re a bunch of goofballs. I loved the comedic relief they offered the story.
Onto Seth…he was a doll. He was kind and caring and just a total sweetheart. Which warrants a pause and wild applause for Rachel for writing such a sweet guy. I applaud the fact that she took a leap and wrote a nice guy! He wasn’t a big jerk like a lot of male MC’s are in YA these days. I loved Seth. He was nice but he wasn’t boring and he treated Jazzy and her family with the utmost respect. He also says and does some of the most romantic things, ever. I found myself swooning over him on page after page.
My favorite part about this entire book was the paranormal aspect. The story-line and characters were unique and I had a blast trying to figure things out. Jazzy’s revelations of the creatures surrounding her and of her stalker had me intrigued from beginning to end. The plot was very engaging and I found myself unable to put the book down. Plus, I loved Jazzy and Henry’s friendships with Skeeter and the “giants”. I always love stories that include friendships, especially ones with such strong characters. I loved Skeeter, she was hilarious and I cannot wait to see what crazy things she’s going to say and do in book 2.
This was a strong series debut and I cannot wait to see what happens in book 2!
Author Bio:
Rachel lives in Central Pennsylvania, is a stay at home mom, has a wonderful husband, total of 4 kids, 3 of which are step kids. She’s a true Pittsburgh Penguins and Steelers fan. She’s an insomniac that loves coffee, Johnny Depp movies and bonfires, dislikes driving on the interstate, bugs of any kind, and a too quiet house. When she’s not playing with the people inside her head, making her family think she belongs in the loony bin or writing, she enjoys spending time with her family, finding new music, new books, helping someone or plotting something equally crazy with her Critique Partners.
Author Links:
One thought on “True Connection by Rachel Walter Blog Tour: Review

  1. Pingback: True Connection by Rachel Walter Blog Tour: Review | Bibliotropic.com

Leave a Reply

