Just Breathe by Rachel Brookes Blog Tour: Review

Ah, I know I talk about how much I love the English/UK/etc. but my first love was always the Aussies. No joke, I even named my dog after Australian slang, he’s an Australian Shepherd. Ha. I know.

Anyways, when Rachel approached me about reviewing Just Breathe I had already known she was Australian so when I saw in the blurb the book featured an Australian MC, I just couldn’t say no.

Summary:

For Savannah Rae, living life without her parents was unimaginable. But being blamed for her first love’s suicide? That destroyed every part of who she was. 

 Gone were the days of innocence, happiness, and dreams. Now her days simply meant attempting to survive. In her mind, her only means for that was replacing her grief with men, booze and the fast life. And for five years, it worked.

 When an opportunity to leave the nightmares of her past in Australia opens up, she takes it. Los Angeles beckons – with hopes of late nights, new beginnings, and the promise of a string of endless men to distract her, she can’t wait to dive in.

 One thing she didn’t count on was meeting her match.

 In the eyes of outsiders, Tate Connors has it all; the ultimate LA bachelor who is content with his lifestyle of wild nights, women and one night stands. He’s Mr. Unpredictable with looks that could destroy any woman with one glance.

 The craziness of Los Angeles throws them into the chaotic path of each other. Savannah becomes the perfect game, and Tate becomes the ultimate prey. Lines are crossed, emotions are smashed, and the idea of who they truly are begins to be tangled.

 However, one thing will become clear.

They are more alike than either one could ever have imagined.

Cover:

Review:

*I received an eARC of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Dear God…this book. Besides being a freaking whirlwind it was so much fun! God, I love Savannah with all my heart. She is definitely my ideal main character. She’s smart, sassy, and stubborn as all hell. Honestly, I think I love her so much because her and I are so much alike. Savannah is a girl who speaks her mind and goes after what she wants. Even though her past often threatens to consume her, she was never overly self-depreciating. I never felt annoyed or burdened by her troubles, either, which was refreshing for this genre. Savannah is someone I can’t wait to see grow more as a character. I also just LOVE when she calls Tate and “arsehole”!

Speaking of Tate…he was one of the MOST frustrating male MC’s I have ever come across in my reading life. There were times I wanted to haul off and punch him and other times I wanted to cuddle him to death. The things that came out of that boy’s mouth…my goodness. I needed a fan to deal with my mounting anger and attraction. Tate said some pretty asinine things but he always seemed to redeem himself. He truly seems like a guy that is willing and trying to turn himself into a man deserving of someone like Savannah. Truly, I find myself annoyed by most NA male MC’s. They’re generally controlling assholes but Tate was different. He had his jealous and mean streaks but he didn’t boss Savannah around or totally treat  her like dirt all the time.

Anyways, one thing I truly loved about this book was the secondary characters. Mr. Davenport (I love that Savannah NEVER calls him Simon despite his protests), Savannah’s (Sav) father-figure, Tanzi, Sav’s best friend and Tate’s Twin, Lucas, and Jack had me in stitches throughout the whole book. I truly felt like I was a fly on the wall in their little gang! They were HILARIOUS. i am truly cracking up writing this review thinking about them! The way Rachel develops her secondary characters truly shows her talent and I’m so glad to have gotten to “know” them!

I loved this story. At times it was frustrating as hell and at other times it pulled at all the right heartstrings. There were a few WTF moments where my mouth literally hung open and I either had to promptly shut it as to not have a fly move in OR wipe the drool from my chin during Tate’s more sexy moments. I also loved that it immediately sucked me in and kept me on the edge of my seat virtually flipping pages as quickly as my little eyes could scan them. I cannot WAIT to see what’s in store for this crazy gang! I also cannot wait to see more of Tanzi and Jack’s antics. I just can’t get enough of them! Jack had me busting out laughing on numerous occasions!

I really recommend this to someone who enjoys NA, sexy MC’s (on all accounts), and not your virginal, perfect female MC with the right amount of sassy attitude.

Links:

Amazon US – Amazon UK Goodreads

Author Bio:

 

Rachel Brookes is from a coastal town on the east coast of Australia where beaches, kangaroos and surfers roam free. She writes angst ridden love stories with a pinch of craziness, a dash of drama, a cup of romance, a spoonful of sexiness and the main ingredient hot guys. Rachel sometimes forgets to eat, sometimes forgets to sleep and sometimes can’t remember the last time she cleaned her apartment but that’s because she is in a long term relationship with her laptop and they are constantly writing together.  When she does step away from her laptop she can be found taking too many photos, making scrumptious cocktails, laughing at Adam Sandler movies and spending her time with her amazing family and friends. With her first novel, Just Breathe, due to be released in July 2013, her dream of releasing a book will become reality. With another three books already taking up her mind, she cannot wait to start this crazy ride.

 Author Links:

Twitter – Facebook – Goodreads – Blog

6 thoughts on “Just Breathe by Rachel Brookes Blog Tour: Review

  1. Pingback: Breathless (Breathe #1.5) by Rachel Brookes Cover Reveal & Giveaway | teacups&bookends

  2. The synopsis makes Sav sound like a bit of a slut and not in a healthy way, but your review has humanized her for me – and made the books sound good! “I needed a fan to deal with my mounting anger and attraction” – whoop! I shall have to look out for this one. 🙂 Tate may need to be added to my ‘potential book boyfriend’ pile.

Leave a Reply

