April Showers by Karli Perrin Blog Tour

I’m so SO excited to be participating in the April Showers blog tour!

Summary:

What happens when your head and your heart pull you in completely opposite directions? 

April Adams is about to find out the hard way.

When April enrolls at Manchester University, it feels like a whole new life. New city, new house, new friends…new crush. 

Isaac Sharpe is the hottest guy on campus – with an even hotter reputation. After a chance meeting, April quickly finds herself wrapped up in all that he is. But what if all that he is isn’t what it seems?

Caught up in a battle between what she wants and what she thinks she needs, April meets Lukas Roberts. Lukas is the security blanket that she craves so desperately and she finds solace in their friendship. But what happens when she finds more than she bargained for?

April has always been a big believer of fate, but will she learn that she’s in control of her own destiny before it’s too late?

Join April as she embarks on a life changing journey of love and loss, which will have you laughing and crying until the very end.

Buying Links: U.K. buying link – U.S. buying link 

Cover:

Review.

*I received and eARC of April Showers from the author in exchange for an honest review.

HOLY, This book was a freaking whirlwind! But I thoroughly enjoyed the ride. This was a one night book for me. (Even though technically I had read 2% a few days earlier – life got in the way). I read the other 98% in one night. I was left reeling at the end!

On her first day of classes at Manchester University April meets two men who will change her life. The first man is Isaac- who she quite literally SLAMS into on her way to class. He’s sexy, mysterious, and just as sarcastic as April is herself. Isaac sweeps April off her feet – something she has never experienced before. Now let me stop right here and say: frankly, Isaac swept me off my feet, as well. I’m not even going to TRY to hide it. He was charming, sarcastic but not asinine, kind, and he truly seemed to care about April. There were times when i was a little worried about him because he’d seem to get a little overly protective. I was honestly afraid he was going to turn into another 50 Shades but alas, he was not. He was both a SWEET guy AND (gasp) a little alpha male. Karli did a wonderful job of keeping a nice balance between the two sides of him. However, within the first few chapters April finds out who Isaac truly is and winds up with a broken heart

This is where some people might roll their eyes (trust me I did at first). However, I was totally unjustified and deserve a slap to the hand. The feelings April develops for Isaac might seem superficial and naive (which I sort of leaned towards at first) but it happens. Sometimes when you meet someone the way they make you feel becomes quickly all-consuming and even if they break your heart you end up thinking about them night and day. This is what poor April deals with – sleepless nights, mood swings, and even a little bitterness.

However, she meets Lukas (also on the first day) and he becomes like her safety blanket. Lukas helps ebb the pain when he’s around. They soon begin to spend loads of time together and their developing friendship made me smile. It didn’t seem like Lukas expected anything more than friendship from April. It was nice to see a guy who could look past his feelings for “the girl” and just be a good friend. I liked Lukas a lot for that. He also truly seemed to respect April. Despite his mistakes I truly think he’s a good guy at heart!

Ah, yes, the dreaded love triangle. I honeslty think this was a love triangle done right. Both guys truly had a chance and I have to admit I had a hard time deciding who I liked better between Isaac and Lukas, at first. They both had so much to offer, but where Lukas was April’s calm and steady, Isaac was her fire. I loved each dynamic for different reasons. Although by the end I decided I was Team Isaac, it was a close call for a while.

I have to admit, April frustrated the hell out of me at times. She was so indecisive at times and it drove me crazy! But I loved her friendship with her best friend, Katie. Katie totally called April out on her bullshit which was awesome. Now let me say, I heart April and she was awesome but she’s 20 years old and confused. At her age and in her position (I may not have made the same choices) I think I’d have had the same level of difficulty choosing between what I believe is right and what I truly want. Furthermore, she showed a heck of a lot of restraint when it came to Isaac so I have to give her that. I just felt at times that she toyed with both Lukas and Isaac (albeit unintentionally).

Overall, for a debut novel Karli EXCEEDED my expectations. It was a roller coaster but it was awesome. I always say how I love books that make me feel and this book had me yelling a lot off WHAT?!’s and OMG NO’s! There are quite a few expected plot-twists and the ending was SHOCKING. I just loved it. I can’t wait to see what’s next for April!

OH and by the freaking way, if you couldn’t tell this was a completely English New Adult which I LOVED because I’m obsessed with the U.K. So that was an added bonus.

Ahem, anyways, I leave you with this sexy picture.

The rest of today’s posts, as well as tomorrow’s! Check them out!

Monday 17th June –

Triin – tsbookishmoments.blogspot.co.uk

Traci – thereadinggeek.blogspot.co.uk

Tuesday 18th June –

Lisa – thebookcolumn.blogspot.co.uk

Brittany & Bianca – http://www.BrittanyandBiancaBlabBooks.blogspot.com

Nadia – atotalbooknerd.com

Yvette – ycervera.blogspot.co.uk

6 thoughts on “April Showers by Karli Perrin Blog Tour

  1. That picture!!! How the heck am I supposed to even form a coherent comment now???

    Okay, this sounds like a great book! I do not mind love triangles if they are done well, and this one seems to be a good one. April Showers sounds fabulous, Allura. Great review!

Leave a Reply

