Always Remember by Emma Hart Blog Tour: Review, Author Guest Post, & Giveaway

It’s my stop on the Always Remember blog tour! I’m really excited to share my review and a special guest post from the author, Emma Hart! Just be ready for how utterly emotional her guest post is! I definitely teared up when she sent it to me. There’s also a link to Emma’s giveaway & to a few other blogs participating in the tour at the end of the post!

Summary from Goodreads:

How long does it take for a long-distance relationship to break down? Sixteen months.
When Jen and Carl put their relationship to rest after Christmas, Jen’s biggest problem is going back to London ten days earlier than planned – and her ever-present attraction to Samuel ‘Bing’ Edwards.
Bing has no idea why Jen left Devon so fast. All he knows is that he wants her as much as he did the first day he laid eyes on her – so spending time with her while Lexy is still in Devon isn’t exactly a hardship for him. When he finds out she’s single, the only thing on his mind is finishing what they started at his dad’s fiftieth birthday party.
Feelings that have been a long time building between the two explode, and they both find themselves sucked into an easy yet passionate relationship, with Bing determined to prove to Jen that she’s it for him. That she is The One.
But in a city like London, the odds are stacked against them, and there’s always that one person ready to stir things up… And Jen doesn’t know how much of that she can take – even for the guy she loves more deeply than she ever imagined, and eventually she breaks.
Bing isn’t down with that. He wants Jen, and he wants her by his side for good.

Jennifer Mason must learn that Samuel Edwards doesn’t do giving up. Especially not when his forever girl is involved.

Cover:

Review:

This was my favorite book in the Memories Series by far! Bing and Jen were and are my favorite characters (sorry Lexy and Alec!). Perhaps it’s because I identify a lot better with Jen or perhaps it’s because I love a guy who tries to better himself despite everyone around him having little faith. Truth be told, it’s probably both. Jen and Bing are just alive. I love that about them.

Since the tension (sexual and otherwise) had been steadily building since Never Forget it exploded between and enveloped Jen and Bing. There were sexy scenes throughout the book but I didn’t find them tedious, nor did I think they overshadowed the plot. This is highly important to me. I am often weary of the New Adult genre because more often than not it is a bunch of sex scenes with little or nonsensical plot. Emma was able to incorporate these scenes in a way that added to the story rather than distract or take away from it.

What else did I love? The drama. I love drama. I don’t love being included in it, but watching (reading) it unfold is my guilty pleasure. So when the drama ignited in good ol’ London I was pretty excited. There was the expected drama between Bing and Jen; whether Bing’s past would overshadow their present/future, whether Bing would be faithful, whether Jen could give her heart away, etc. But there was also ex-significant other drama. This is always fun! I enjoyed reading about Heidi and how totally unintelligent and self-degrading she is. It was also really entertaining to see Bing, Jen, Alec, Lexy, Saph (okay everyone’s) basic disgust with Heidi. She was truly despicable and among my favorite parts of this book were when ANYONE put Heidi in her place (especially Jen!). Jen is so awesome, she’s so honest and blunt. I love that. She may struggle with vulnerability at times but overall she does what’s best for HER. This is admirable in so many ways. She also doesn’t put up with anyone’s crap, not even Bing’s, which is very important.

I love the banter between Bing and Jen. I’ve said this before, I’ll say it again. They are hilarious! However, banter, sarcasm, and wit aside, they have real chemistry and an honest to goodness emotional connection. It’s not all sexual attraction between them. They get each other. It’s really something when you find that one person who accepts and understands you despite the fact that at times they may want to hit you with a 2×4. Their relationship has it’s flaws but it’s real. It took a while to get up and running but when it did it was one fire.

Overall this story was charming, emotinal, and engaging. Emma has definitely written a wonderful series and Always Remember concluded it perfectly! I won’t say much about the ending other than it was perfect, I ended up smiling like a ten-year-old school girl, and swiped a few loose tears away.

Guest Post – I asked Emma what the Top Ten Things that Inspire her are! She had really great answers! 

Top 10 things that inspire me.

1. Enid Blyton. Mallory Towers and The Twins at St. Clare’s were the first two series I ever read beginning to end. They, without a doubt, inspired my love for reading from a very young age and are a part of my drive for writing.
2. Harry Potter. Because, well. It’s Harry Potter. I am a Potterhead through and through – and I constantly bemoan the shortcomings of all the films to my partner whenever we watch. (Really, in the third book, he got the Firebolt halfway through, not right at the end. C’mon, Hollywood.)
3. Eavesdropping. LOL. Seriously – I am the worst eavesdropper. I can’t help it, even as I write this, I have one ear focused on the conversations going on around me. You never know when a random sentence stored in your subconscious will come in handy.
4. Photos and images. I do a lot of searching online while I write, and it’s amazing the difference finding the right picture can make. Example – when I wrote THE LOVE GAME, I had writer’s block and decided to search for the cover image. If you’ve read the book, you’ll know the image matches a scene in it, and it was actually finding the image that broke through my block. I have a folder full of random pictures I scroll through on occasion.
5. The beach. If it’s not obvious in my books, I LOVE the beach. I live twenty minutes from the nearest beach – with loads within half an hour’s drive (like, LOADS) – so it’s a big part of what I know. FYI, I also think this means I would die if I had to live in a city.
6. Real life. I draw a lot on real life experiences and emotions in my books, especially the emotions. When Grammy died in NEVER FORGET, I cried my damn eyes out because I drew on the pain I have stored from losing my father. Lexy’s speech at her funeral in the epilogue is actually a lot of the words I’ve never been able to put together.
7. People around me. For example, I’m in Wetherspoons right now while my daughter is at nursery, and I just watched the way a couple at the bar interacted. (Discreetly, I’m no stalker, you guys.) I’ll apply that to the way the couple in my WIP interact.
8. My partner. Now this one is a bit odd and out of place, LOL, because what I really draw on is his speech. He and his friends have random words/sayings that are so very male and I steal them. All the time. I have no shame. It kinda helps with getting into a guy’s head and whatnot.
9. My kids. Even if one is still inside of me. They have to be on the list because they are the reason the words inside my head make it through the process to you guys. The desire to give them the best possible life is the main motivation, and they inspire me every day. This month I’ve been able to spoil my daughter a little, and the look on her face when she sees another Mickey Mouse DVD has arrived in the post makes all the hard work worth it.
10. My father. I always wanted to make him proud, and feel that I had done so. This year I went through his anniversary with a part of me healed because I hit the New York Times list two days previously. He would have wanted me to follow my heart, and I know he’s proud of me for doing that. And now I’m going to stop because I will cry, and since I’m in public, I don’t have my make up to touch up. 😉

Links to Gooreads/Purchase:

Goodreads – Amazon – Amazon UK – Barnes & Noble

Giveaway! Signed copies of Never Forget and Always Remember!

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/7cb80f10/

Thanks for reading! And I’ve also added the tour stops right before & after mine below!

May 24

Carey http://careyheywood.blogspot.com  -Review

Laura http://www.bookishtreasures.blogspot.com-Review

May 25 

Allura https://teacupsandbookends.wordpress.com – Review, Guest Post

Brianna http://www.briannaleereviews.blogspot.com-Promotional stop

May 26 

Mary Tartar www.maryelizabethscrazybookobsession.com–Review/Character Interview

Emma Harris http://www.shereadsnewadult.com/?m=1-review

May 27

Erica http://whoyoucallinabookwhore.wordpress.com-Review

Emma http://emmahart93.blogspot.com/ -End of tour/announce winners

Thanks to Dani at Crazy Girl Blog Tours for organizing this!

Crazy Girl Tours

*I was provided an eARC of this book by the author in exchange for an honest review.

4 thoughts on “Always Remember by Emma Hart Blog Tour: Review, Author Guest Post, & Giveaway

Leave a Reply

