Entrelacen by Dani Morales: Review & Giveaway

*I was given an eCopy of Entrelacen by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Summary from Goodreads:

One girl faces tethered responsibilities in the form of three boys.
One boy dealt a hard hand but rises above in search of his destiny.
Two separate lives desperate for a break, collide.
Falling in love was never the plan but it happened anyway.
Time’s running out and both their fears comes to light.ย 
The key to defeating darkness lies within their family lineage.
Were they thrown together by chance or fate?
Will love conquer all or will a sacrifice be made?

Cover:

Entrelacen

Review:

I really enjoyed this book. It was definitely different which peaked my interest right away. This book was brave. It’s technically in the genre of “New Adult” (I guess?) but it did NOT include all the stereotypical NA elements. It was, of course, a love story but it wasn’t just a love story between a boy and a girl. It was so much more than that. It was about two people who had to learn to love themselves, too.

I was instantly drawn into April’s story. I absolutely loved that she wasn’t your typical female MC. She was smart and determined and strong. She knew what she wanted and she fought like Hell to get it. I found her so totally refreshing. I loved that she wasn’t perfect and she wasn’t “typically” beautiful. She had her flaws and although a times those flaws impacted her life she learned to accept and even, dare I say it,ย LOVEย those flaws. Her overwhelming strength and courage in her battle against her father and his really stupid wife amazed me. I mean, I’m April’s age and I don’t know if I would EVER have the confidence in myself to take on adopting three young boys. It was truly inspiring. Oh, and guess what…? April IS NOT a virgin. I know this might not seem like a big deal, however, when almost every single female NA MC is a virgin it’s a little unrealistic. I mean, I have nothing against virgins, in fact I think it’s admirable but it’s nice to see someone who isn’t. Anyways, moving right along…

Logan intrigued me from the first time we meet him. I felt totally empathetic towards his situation and understood why he didn’t like opening up to new people. His back-story was totally heartbreaking and I honestly couldn’t believe the shit he had to go through. And guess what!!! Logan isn’t a womanizing jerk! He’s actually a really decent guy. He’s sweet and kind and mostly seems to have a good head on his shoulders. I found myself swooning over some of the truly sweet and romantic things he thought/said. I really enjoyed him as a male MC. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Plus he’s sexy and has nice abs, what’s not to love?

I was curious about how April and Logan’s stories were going to intertwine. The first half of the book focused on their back-stories and how they became who they were in the present and then transitioned into well, the present. I thought the transitioning period was interesting. I did struggle a little bit with the beginning because it was often fast-paced and a little overwhelming but I don’t think it detracted from the book’s overall value. Anyways, I thought the way April and Logan ended up meeting was pretty awesome. And, although I’m not generally a lover of insta-love I found their instant attraction vital to the story. It was a mystery to solve. I found myself repeatedly guessing about their possible and probable magical origins through the first half of the book and wondered if this was behind their instant attraction. I enjoyed the magical aspects of this book which made it totally different from most NA I’ve read lately. It was an interesting and unique story and I found myself itching to know what happened next.

This story really made me feel. At times this story left me breathless, anxious, giddy, and even brought about a round or two of tears.

As a debut novel I think Entrelacen tells of the immense potential Dani Morales has as an author. I can’t wait to read more from her in the future! Now onto the giveaway!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Dani was kind enough to offer to let me give away a signed ARC of Entrelacen and a swag pack (US Only) or an Ebook copy (INTL)ย so go enter!

*Click on the link below & Complete the following steps:*

1. Tweet about the giveaway!

2. Like Dani Morales’ Facebook Page!

3. Follow Dani Morales on Twitter!

4. Follow me on Twitter!

5. Leave a blog post comment!

6. Follow Teacups&Bookends blog! (It’s easier if you follow the blog first and then click on the Rafflecopter link)

7. Free entry – just leave your email address

*Note you can enter using any combination of entries – completing all entries is not required*

RAFFLECOPTER LINK: a Rafflecopter giveaway

Author Info:

dani

Dani Morales is a native Texan currently residing in Las Vegas, Nevada with her three boys and her mother.ย ย She adopted the boys in December of 2011 and loves spending every minute playing with them. On her spare time you can find a book in her hand or sitting in front of the computer typing out stories that run rampant in her mind.

Stalk Dani here:

Goodreads TwitterFacebook Blog

ANDDDDD DANI’S PLAYLIST FOR ENTRELACEN โค Check it out, it’s amazing!

https://embed.spotify.com/?uri=spotify:user:1257723516:playlist:59gcgQE9U62IwjAOAmzBXL

7 thoughts on “Entrelacen by Dani Morales: Review & Giveaway

  1. This sounds really interesting. Glad it’s not typical NA and the heroine is actually heroic! I hadn’t heard of this one before. Will check it out ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Pingback: UPDATE: Entrelacen Giveaway Prize has been extended to include my International Followers! | teacups&bookends

  3. I didn’t realize that this is a paranormal story. And now I’m wondering about the magic! It’s nice that the characters weren’t the stereotypical NA leads.
    I’m glad you liked Entrelacen. Great review, sweetie!

Leave a Reply

