Succubus on Top (Georgina Kincaid #2) by Richelle Mead

Summary from Goodreads:

Love hurts, and no one knows it better than Georgina Kincaid. If she so much as kisses Seth Mortensen, the shy, sexy writer she’s been dating, she’ll drain his life force. Admittedly, the shape shifting and immortality perks of a succubus are terrific, but it’s completely unfair that a she-demon whose purpose is seduction can’t get down with the one mortal who accepts her for who she is. . .
It’s not just her personal life that’s in chaos. Doug, Georgina’s co-worker at a local bookstore, has been exhibiting bizarre behavior, and Georgina suspects something far more demonic than double espressos. She could use an assist from Bastien, an irresistibly charming incubus and her best immortal friend, but he’s giving Georgina some highly distracting come-hither vibes. Georgina is going to have to work solo on this one–and fast, because soon, Doug’s life won’t be the only one on the line. . .

Link to Goodreads

Cover:

Succubus on Top (Georgina Kincaid, #2)

Review:

Many book series suffer from what I like to call “second-book-suck-syndrome.” This book, however, did not. It was still great. It still held true to pure Richelle Mead standards with wit, charm, and suspense to boot. I loved it.

I still love Georgina something fierce. She’s still as spunky and charismatic as ever and I love the fact that she seems to really have a conscience even though she’s a creature of hell. She does do one INCREDIBLY shocking and stupid thing in this book that LITERALLY had my screaming “WHY GEORGIE, WHYYYYY?!” But other than that, I still love her.

One of my favorite things about these books are the flashbacks. I love seeing what Georgina’s life was like before she became a succubus. I also liked that upon the arrival of Bastien we get to see more of Georgina’s life in the early stages of the becoming a succubus. I found that these scenes really allowed for more character development and a glimpse into how Georgina’s past dictates her present behaviors.

Now onto my least favorite parts of this book. Bastien, ack. I didn’t like him. He drove me crazy and he does some pretty repulsive things. I also felt that he was way too egotistical and although he was vital to the story and I  understood why he was the way he was, I didn’t like him. Not one bit.

Also, the other thing that really bothered me about the story was that although there were a few different story arcs going on, the conclusions/outcomes of a few of them were so anti-climatic that it was hard to be anything but slightly disappointed. The resolutions weren’t bad, per se, they just lacked the excitement I expected.

Now to my favorite part! SETH! My God. Seth is just so perfect, he’s not a bad boy and he doesn’t possess a fatal flaw, but he’s just so sweet. He’s also an author, uh swoon. He says some of the most profound and sentimental things. I think he’s so endearing to me because he’s so introverted and brilliant. Not to mention, his adorable quirk of not saying anything until he perfectly forms the words in his head. I have to say it’s a nice change-up to have a male MC who’s just plain nice. Ahh, Seth. ❤

So now that I’ve exclaimed, complained, and swooned I’d just like to say that no matter what, the Georgina Kincaid novels hold a special and dear spot in my heart. I highly recommend you read them if you haven’t.

2 thoughts on “Succubus on Top (Georgina Kincaid #2) by Richelle Mead

Leave a Reply

