Succubus Blues (Georgina Kincaid #1) by Richelle Mead

Summary from Goodreads:

When it comes to jobs in hell, being a succubus seems pretty glamorous. A girl can be anything she wants, the wardrobe is killer, and mortal men will do anything just for a touch. Granted, they often pay with their souls, but why get technical?
But Seattle succubus Georgina Kincaid’s life is far less exotic. At least there’s her day job at a local bookstore–free books; all the white chocolate mochas she can drink; and easy access to bestselling, sexy writer, Seth Mortensen, aka He Whom She Would Give Anything to Touch but Can’t.

But dreaming about Seth will have to wait. Something wicked is at work in Seattle’s demon underground. And for once, all of her hot charms and drop-dead one-liners won’t help because Georgina’s about to discover there are some creatures out there that both heaven and hell want to deny. . .

Link to Goodreads

Cover: 

Succubus Blues (Georgina Kincaid, #1)

Review:

Have I ever mentioned how much I love Richelle Mead? Because I do. She writes a phenomenal novel. Georgina is awesome. She’s funny, intelligent, witty, sarcastic, compassionate, and caring. She’s a perfect MC. I felt myself totally empathizing with her disdain towards being a succubus. She was generally a good person..er..succubus and I felt, though she made a pretty big mistake, the punishment she inflicted upon herself didn’t fit the crime. She had me dying of laughter. She was incredible.

I loved the story, too. It was different. It definitely included a lot of run of the mill supernatural creatures but I thought it was pretty awesome how the creatures of Hell, and even a Heavenly angel, all hung out. It was great. Even though they were a pretty dysfunctional group I definitely got the feeling of family cohesion.

I also enjoyed the development of both the main and secondary characters. Jerome’s resemblance to John Cusack was an extremely comical part of the story and honesty, I love John Cusack so this just made me especially giddy. I loved Hugh, Doug, Cody, and Peter, they all added their own quirks to the story.

My favorite characters (obviously besides Georgina):

Carter: The angel who chooses to hang out with the damned. Carter was extremely asinine in the begining which drove Georgina crazy but I thought he was clever. He definitely grows not only on Georgina but also the reader as the story progresses. I can’t wait to see more of him in the next books.

Seth: OH SETH. He is so sweet. He’s such a shy and intellectual guy. I love him. He says all the right things and I just get warm and fuzzy feelings thinking about him. ❤

Roman: Mmm… Roman. He was sexy. And smart. And funny. I definitely crushed on him.

ALSO. I really couldn’t choose between Seth and Roman. They both had their own specific personality traits that had me completely torn!

So to conclude, what would be a Richelle Mead novel without a serious plot twist? Yeah, I couldn’t believe who the culprit was. Totally blew me away.

I would totally recommend this book. I loved it. It was funny, witty, and contained the epic suspense characteristic of a Richelle Mead novel.

Favorite Quote:

“Look, don’t get me wrong. I worship the ground this guy walks on. I’m excited to meet him tonight. I’m dying to meet him tonight. If he wanted to carry me off and make me his love slave, I’d do it, so long as I got advance copies of his books.”

*This book has some explicit content and probably shouldn’t be read by those under 17 years of age.

5 thoughts on “Succubus Blues (Georgina Kincaid #1) by Richelle Mead

Leave a Reply

