Shark Bait (Grab Your Pole Series #1) by Jenn Cooksey

Summary from goodreads:

link to goodreads

link to Amazon

Previously homeschooled Camie Ramsey is being shoved into the shark-infested waters of public high school, where even helium filled, penguin bespeckled arm floaties likely won’t help keep her inexperienced, fifteen-year old head above water in that rip current of hormones and emotions.

Camie’s worldly wisdom might be severely lacking (i.e., the closest she’s come to being kissed was sitting too close to the TV whilst Jake Ryan leaned in to give Samantha that fateful 16th birthday kiss), but she does understand her only hope for survival is if she’s thrown some kind of “social” life preserver before she sinks like a freaking rock. However, what will her fate be when she endeavors to flag down the only lifeguard on duty, the enormously popular and ridiculously beautiful Tristan Daniels? The most sought after and virtually most unattainable guy in school who not only makes Camie’s heart flatline on a recurring basis, he’s also the one guy who seemingly doesn’t know she exists.

Feeling like an inept piece of chum that could ultimately be swallowed by Jaws, can Camie get Tristan to rescue her from floundering in the treacherous deep, or is she destined to be Shark Bait?

Cover:

Shark Bait (Grab Your Pole #1)

Review:
I received this book from a contest hosted by Andrea at http://www.thebookishbabes.blogspot.com. A big thanks to her for introducing me to this amazing book!

Sooooo…this was my reaction to the first two chapters of Shark Bait:

“WHY DID IT TAKE ME SO LONG TO FIND YOU, YOU SWEET, SWEET BOOK?”

And then it just kept getting better, and better, and better.

I LOVED THIS BOOK. I rarely wish there was a way to give more than 5-stars on goodreads or Amazon but this is one of those times. This book was so many things. It had me LITERALLY laughing out loud. I cried a little bit, I got really, really angry and wanted to throw it out the window, and I may or may not have swooned hardcore over Tristan. I also LOVED Camie, and I rarely love female main characters. And let’s be honest…anyone who can pull 1980’s references, and make it work, wins in my book.

So why did I love this book? Well, first off, let’s talk about the characters.

Camie: Her running commentary was hilarious. It was like being in the head of my 15-year-old self during my first high school crush. She was sweet and somewhat clueless when it came to high school social norms and boys but it was totally endearing. What I admired most about her was her ability to see past the puddle of mush Tristan turned her (and every other female EVER) into and think about what was best for HER. And let’s be honest, I love me some snark and wit, and well, Camie’s got plenty of both. Exhibit A:

Hmmm…a smokin’ hot guy who’s both popular and nice? When I get home I think I’ll check the weather channel to see if they’re ice skating in Hell.”

And this is a perfect lead into Tristan. Oh Tristan Daniels, be still my beating heart. Here’s a sample of just how gorgeous everyone, especially Camie, finds him:

I’ve got to pick my jaw up off the floor. I think while I’m down here, I’ll pray and thank God for His glorious creation, because seriously, He does some damned fine work.

Tristan is mysterious and sexy, which are two things I love in any male main character. He has his flaws, as do we all, and he did a few things that really made me want to slap the s*** out of him but hey. I hardcore fan-girled over him the entire book. I didn’t always like his actions but at the end of the day, he proves to be a good guy at heart. Much like Camie he had a lot to learn about trust, friendship, and love.

Okay, what I really, REALLY love about this book are the friendship. The friendships set it apart from a lot of books out there today. Kate, “Dear Jeff”, Mike, Melissa, and Pete were all fantastic. I really don’t want to spoil anything about them but what I will say is the way Cooksey wrote them made them feel real and not just background objects for the sake of the main characters having friends. They were integral to the story and provided depth to story.

Also, Jillian is my most favorite character but I’m not telling you why. You need to read it. NOW.

This book was not just another romance novel but really touched on the intricacies and hardships that are faced during the pursuit of first love. It’s a wonderful look into the life of a 15-year-old girl and her friends trying to find their way in the mean world of high school. Regardless of their popularity they faced bullying, rumors, and heartbreak so don’t worry about things seeming too-good-to-be-true. It was hilarious, heartwarming, and wonderful. I HIGHLY recommend this book.

3 thoughts on “Shark Bait (Grab Your Pole Series #1) by Jenn Cooksey

  1. WOW! I love love love this review! You nailed exactly why this book (and series) rocks so hard. I am thrilled you loved Shark Bait!

    Just wait for book two!

  2. Pingback: Shark Out of Water (Grab Your Pole Series #3) by Jenn Cooksey | teacups&bookends

Leave a Reply

