Blood Red Road (Dust Lands Book #1) by Moira Young

Summary from goodreads:

Saba has spent her whole life in Silverlake, a dried-up wasteland ravaged by constant sandstorms. The Wrecker civilization has long been destroyed, leaving only landfills for Saba and her family to scavenge from. That’s fine by her, as long as her beloved twin brother Lugh is around. But when a monster sandstorm arrives, along with four cloaked horsemen, Saba’s world is shattered. Lugh is captured, and Saba embarks on an epic quest to get him back.

Suddenly thrown into the lawless, ugly reality of the world outside of desolate Silverlake, Saba is lost without Lugh to guide her. So perhaps the most surprising thing of all is what Saba learns about herself: she’s a fierce fighter, an unbeatable survivor, and a cunning opponent. And she has the power to take down a corrupt society from the inside. Teamed up with a handsome daredevil named Jack and a gang of girl revolutionaries called the Free Hawks, Saba stages a showdown that will change the course of her own civilization.

Blood Red Road has a searing pace, a poetically minimal writing style, violent action, and an epic love story. Moira Young is one of the most promising and startling new voices in teen fiction.

goodreads link: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9917938-blood-red-road

Cover:

Blood Red Road (Dust Lands, #1)

Review:

Let’s see what to say about Blood Red Road…I had an extremely difficult time getting into this book in the beginning. It is intentionally written in pretty poor English and I struggled to adjust to this. I read about 30 pages of the book and ended up putting it down for about a week while I read some other things. Once I picked it back up (after reading some reviews about how you eventually adjust to the language) I eventually got into it. It took me about 100 pages but I adjusted to the language when the action truly began to pick up.

I did enjoy the book, overall, but it wasn’t really that deep. At times I felt it lacked true feeling and definitely needed more character development. However, I did really like that Saba was pretty kick-ass and didn’t take anybody’s crap. I didn’t particularly enjoy her treatment of her  younger sister (Emmi) at times but hey, nobody’s perfect. What I found really ironic is that her younger sister is almost exactly like Saba. She’s stubborn, she can be pretty prickly, but she really does have a heart of gold under all that spunk. I found myself connecting to these two characters most of all. Saba and Emmi’s companions (Epona, Jack, Ike, and Ash) are all likable but they lack certain depth. You do get to know Jack but only a superficial level; you learn he’s smart, compassionate, and pretty comical but beyond that I didn’t feel a major connection to him. The romance between Saba and Jack was odd. It possessed a lot of the same elements most YA romances do (boy falls head over heels for girl, girl does the same but resists, etc, etc.) but sometimes I felt it was little forced and Saba’s play at hard to get grated on my nerves at times.

As for the story, I liked it. I liked the cage fighting (though the last fight was pretty anti-climatic) and the search for Saba and Emmi’s brother (Lugh). I liked the giant worms and once the action picked up I found myself unable to put it down. I just wish the story had ended differently because I don’t feel the need to run out and buy the next book. I will definitely read the next book but it probably won’t be in the immediate future.

I do give this book my recommendation but I would totally understand if some people can’t get past the broken English. It’s a good story and I am really interested in seeing how the character’s and story develop in Rebel Heart. 

Leave a Reply

