Flirting with Maybe by Wendy Higgins

Before I start this review and shout-out and big thanks to the author herself for giving me this book. 🙂 Even though she’s one of my auto-buy authors it was awesome to win this and I was really excited. 🙂 So thanks!

Summary from Goodreads:
http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16045331-flirting-with-maybe

(note: an epilogue can be found on the author’s website:http://www.wendyhigginswrites.com/p/e…)

He was fifteen and she was seventeen. 

When sophomore Ryan “The Kid” McPhearson makes the Varsity baseball team, he finds himself submersed into the life of upperclassmen, and falling in love with senior Brooke Bennet. To Ryan she’s his dream girl, perfect. Maybe to the outside world a two-year age difference doesn’t matter, but this is high school. Everything matters.

Ryan soon realizes Brooke’s life is not so perfect. He becomes her closest friend, her safe place to fall when she needs to escape. Ryan seems to be benched in the friend zone with no chance to bat.

Time is both a curse and a blessing. It ushers Brooke away to college, and Ryan into the arms of his first girlfriend. It alters Ryan from a kid to a high school graduate, ready to venture to college himself. But when Ryan sees Brooke again he realizes there are some things even time can’t touch.

Though much has changed, one question still remains. Will the things that mattered in high school always stand between them?

(A contemporary/realistic fiction novella available only as an ebook)

Cover:

Flirting with Maybe

Review:

Wendy Higgins has done it again. The fact that I finished a book at 10:30 at night, picked this book up, and finished it that night is usually an indication I loved it. I thought this book was charming, engaging, and fun. I enjoyed both Brooke and Ryan as characters. It was nice to see a YA male MC that wasn’t an alpha male. Although I love my alpha males sometimes it’s a good change to read about a guy who’s just plain nice. Brooke was fun, wild, and slightly damaged but she was totally endearing to me. Even though Brooke was obviously gorgeous, popular, and sweet, she wasn’t conceited or annoying. I felt like I really connected with these characters and for that to happen in just short of 100 pages takes skillful writing. I didn’t once feel bored by what was happening in the book and the epilogue was just as awesome. I would totally recommend this book especially if you’re in need of something short and sweet. 🙂

p.s. Sorry this review is a little short, I don’t want to give away ANYTHING.

Leave a Reply

