The Indigo Spell by Richelle Mead (Bloodlines Book #3)

Summary from Penguin:

Sydney Sage is an Alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires. They protect vampire secrets—and human lives.

In the aftermath of a forbidden moment that rocked Sydney to her core, she finds herself struggling to draw the line between her Alchemist teachings and what her heart is urging her to do. Then she meets alluring, rebellious Marcus Finch–a former Alchemist who escaped against all odds, and is now on the run. Marcus wants to teach Sydney the secrets he claims the Alchemists are hiding from her. But as he pushes her to rebel against the people who raised her, Sydney finds that breaking free is harder than she thought. There is an old and mysterious magic rooted deeply within her. And as she searches for an evil magic user targeting powerful young witches, she realizes that her only hope is to embrace her magical blood–or else she might be next. 

Cover:

Review:

I must start out by saying, I am officially a Bloodlines convert. It’s not that I didn’t like it, or I expected Vampire Academy Part II, it was just hard to transition from Rose’s to Sydney’s point of view. I have now realized Sydney is just as awesome, kick-ass, and determined as Rose. Where Rose uses brute-force and sarcasm to get what she wants, Sydney uses logic and calculation. This spin-off series is exceeding my expectations with every new book release. The Indigo Spell cranked up the romantic and sexual tension to a level that should have had my Kindle exploding. I love the Sydney-Adrian dynamic because neither one is described as being this perfect person. They both have flaws and through those flaws they understand each other. Yes, Adrian is hotness incarnate and will let anyone who will listen know it, but he also  has such a vulnerable side that you just want to hug him.

Now onto the actual book. I LOVED this book. I mean, I loved it so much that I had to force myself to read it over three days instead of three hours. I only did this because I was so afraid to finish it and have to wait until November that I dragged it out. Like I said, the tension between Sydney and Adrian is off the charts. The decisions Sydney and Adrian have to make shows a new side of both of them, they’re growing up. Adrian is taking Sydney’s rejection with a lot more maturity than we would have expected from him in Vampire Academy. He isn’t acting like a toddler and pouting, there’s no bitterness, he’s just taking it in stride. 

As for the actual plot line, its genius. There are so many moments I expected to play out one way and then low and beyond we’re off in a different direction. This is a sign of truly amazing writing when you can fool your audience. Many YA novels tend to be predictable and somewhat cliché but Richelle Mead always has some new trick up her sleeve. The beginning, middle, and end are all just pure genius.  There are so many little moments added in that make you fall in love with this world so much more. Malachi Wolfe humor, t-shirt painting, and some pretty unexpected acquisitions make this book so much fun to read. I wish I could say more but I really don’t want to spoil ANYTHING.

I’m not going to lie, I have become an Adrian fangirl but I just can’t help it. He’s so dynamic as a character it’s hard not to fall for his charms. I also REALLY want to encourage those of you who weren’t sure about Bloodlines and Sydney to get the first two, read them (if you haven’t), breathe, and then pick up The Indigo Spell and all your fears/apprehension/etc. will be allayed. Sydney will wow you with her own set of kick-ass heroics. TRUST ME. 

12 thoughts on “The Indigo Spell by Richelle Mead (Bloodlines Book #3)

  1. I literally finished reading this like an hour ago and I don’t know what to do with myself, I’m such an Adrain fan! and loved this book, Richelle Mead did a great job

    • Yes, I totally agree with that. I found Sydney interesting but it was definitely a HUGE difference. I also wasn’t a huge Adrian fan during VA because I wanted Rose to be with Dimitri but the second book really started changing my mind and then the third book converted me. 🙂

      • Hmm, at first I found her attitude depressing because she just….took everything without any comment, but in this book you really get to see that the fact she CAN do that shows how strong she is. :O I loved Adrian during VA; he wasn’t any competition for Dimitri, but I loved him. In Bloodlines, though, I sort of wanted to cut him; the whining was so … Edward Cullen xD

Leave a Reply

