Everbound by Brodi Ashton

I’m going to post the summary from the publisher because I feel I can’t do this book justice in my own words. I also apologize for any misspellings or grammatical errors but I was so excited about this review I couldn’t wait to publish it. 🙂

Summary from Harper Teen:

“Nikki Beckett could only watch as her boyfriend, Jack, sacrificed himself to save her, taking her place in the Tunnels of the Everneath for eternity—a debt that should’ve been hers. Now she is living a borrowed life, and she doesn’t know what to do with the guilt. And every night, Jack appears in her dreams, lost and confused and wasting away. No matter how she tries to reach for his hand, she can never find it.

Desperate for answers, Nikki turns to Cole, the immortal bad boy who wants to make her his queen—and the one person least likely to help. But his heart has been touched by everything about Nikki, and he agrees to help in the only way he can: by taking her to the Everneath himself.

Nikki and Cole, along with Cole’s bandmate Max, descend into the Everneath, only to discover that their journey will be more difficult than they’d anticipated—and more deadly. From a Lake of Blood and Guilt to Sirens’ alluring tricks to insurmountable walls of rock and flame, the trio is given every reason to turn back and give up. But Nikki vows to stop at nothing to save Jack—even if it means making an incredible sacrifice of her own.

In this breathtaking sequel to Everneath, Brodi Ashton tests the bonds of destiny and explores the lengths we’ll go to for the ones we love.”

Cover:

Review – The Good, the Better, and the Best

The Good: As though of you who read my review of Everneath are aware, Nikki Beckett drove me crazy. Like I said, I know she went through a lot, but she was just too morose and whiny for me. In this book, though, Nikki seems to take charge a lot more and although some of her actions are impulsive and incredibly stupid, I’m fairly sure most in her situation would act equally as rash. So Nikki Beckett, you are indeed growing on me, bravo. 🙂

The Better: Cole. I was extremely excited to see more of Cole in Everbound. It’s not that he wasn’t important to Everneath because that’s absurd but in Everbound you really got to see what makes Cole tick. I loved the evolution of his relationship with Nikki and although I couldn’t decide if I liked him or not, Everbound made my decision, Cole is pretty bad-ass. Besides Cole, I loved that Ashton kept in the flashbacks to Jack. I felt these were vitally important to maintain empathy and awareness of Jack. I know, I know, getting Jack back was the whole premise of the book but sometimes when other strong characters are involved it causes one to neglect the missing link. Not to mention, these flashbacks totally made me love Jack even more. (I’M SO TEAM JACK)

The BEST: I ask of you, have you read a book that keeps you up at night after you finish that last page? Your heart beats faster and fire (figuratively) spreads through your body. Well, ladies and gentlemen, if you have not had this experience then you’re about to. The ending to this book blew my ever-loving mind. BLEW IT. That’s all I can say without giving anything away. YOU NEED TO READ THIS SERIES. This book, by no means, suffers the infamous “second book syndrome” but instead cements Ashton’s place among the greats of YA Paranormal Fiction. The story was so fast-paced and intriguing that I actually had to force myself to read it over three days instead of my normal one day. Not to mention, once you get 3/4 of the way done, good luck putting it down. GOOD LUCK. So please, go read Everneath if you haven’t, and then get your hands on this.

*Side note, I honestly wouldn’t give this book this review if it didn’t deserve it. It’s not everyday, or actually, almost never that a book can completely fool me.

Leave a Reply

