Everneath by Brodi Ashton

Summary:

Six months ago Nikki Beckett disappeared. She left no goodbyes, no explanations, and no clues to her whereabouts. Nikki spent a century in the Everneath while only six months passed on the Surface. Now she’s back to say her goodbyes to her friends, family, and Jack, the boyfriend she left behind, before she’s sucked back into the Everneath forever.

Nikki longs to spend her last six months on the surface in peace, but Cole, the Everliving who first brought her to the Everneath, has followed her back. He wants Nikki to rule alongside him in the Everneath but that means selling her soul. Cole will do anything to make Nikki his Queen even if it means destroying her already fragile relationship with Jack.

Can Nikki find redemption before the Everneath swallows her back up or will she choose to sell her soul and rule the Everneath with Cole?

Review:

I realized early in reading Everneath that it was a modern twist on the Greek myth of Persephone and Hades. Being a big mythology (of any sorts) nerd I was really excited. I did really enjoy the way Ashton wrote the story but I had a few problems with it. My first problem was the timeline, Nikki supposedly left in early spring and returned six months later. This would mean she probably left sometime around March and thus came back sometime around September but as I continued to read the time line just didn’t add up. Although this is a really minuscule detail it did grate on me a little bit. The only other issue I had with the story was Nikki. I understand she went through a lot and she had every right to be a little whiny but when she said she wanted to come back to make things right with her family she could have actually  seemed to try to make good on that. Yes, she went to school and worked at the soup kitchen like her dad requested but she really made no other attempts at redeeming herself with her father or her brother. She kept talking about how she was going to make things better but I saw little to no action. I really was not a big fan of Nikki and if it weren’t for Cole and Jack I might have been disinclined to read the whole story. However, Jack and Cole were the saving grace of this book. I hope that in the next book (WHICH COMES OUT NEXT WEEK 🙂 ) Nikki becomes a more likable character. I do have to say that this book was awesome despite these few flaws and the ending was a total shocker! I loved this modernization of Persephone and Hades and I can’t wait to see what she does in the next installment.

Leave a Reply

